![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Team Control/Throw In After Made FG
			 
			
			
			Let me preface this with I am not an official, but a former college coach at a HS county final last night.  I am certain a mistake was made in this situation but maybe somebody can clarify for me.  A1 is taking the ball out of bounds after a made basket.  While he is holding the ball attempting to inbound and clearly has not released the ball yet, A2 is called for a foul for pushing off to get open against B1.  Both teams were in the double bonus situation.  However, B1 was NOT awarded 2 free throws.  I have always been under the impression that in HS basketball, team control does not begin until the ball is inbounded.  At the time of the foul there was 1:30 left in a tie game so obviously a huge play.  I happened to see the exact same scenario with :17 seconds left in a 1 point game on Saturday and the team/B1 was correctly (or I think correctly) awarded 2 free throws.  I asked the coach after the game about it and he said the official told him it was a team control foul.  That official also happens to work college games and in those games he would be correct.  Maybe uniformity in this rule would be a good thing since in many county and state tourney games you have many guys who work D3/D2/etc on these high school games. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Thanks.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 Quote: 
	
  
		 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 +1 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
			I gotta new attitude! Last edited by tref; Fri Feb 25, 2011 at 12:59pm.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			It IS a TC foul under NCAA rules.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			JR t/c does exist during the throw-in in the NCAA game.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I gotta new attitude!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Ok Jurassic, so even in college B1 should have been awarded free throws.  I thought in college it was considered team control when the inbounder was still holding the ball attempting the throw in and thus no free throws were awarded.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 ![]() No team control foul in high school; team control foul in college.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  
		
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I gotta new attitude!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			In the NBE, free throws are allowed only if the fouled player is a superstar - rule 1-1-1.   
		
		
		
		
		
		
			 
		
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Yom HaShoah  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
		
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Team Control during Throw in | Remington | Basketball | 21 | Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm | 
| Team Control Established on Throw In (NFHS) | pop_ey | Basketball | 16 | Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:51pm | 
| Team control exception on throw ins | Buckley11 | Basketball | 18 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am | 
| Team Control during a free throw? | FrankHtown | Basketball | 15 | Wed Oct 19, 2005 08:31am |