The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 58
AP Arrow

In a recent MS game, I was administering a AP throw in from the endline. Team A had possession by the arrow. Team B is pressing. A attempts to inbound and ball goes out of bounds on sideline without being touched by either team. I give B possession at the same spot as A's throw in. My partner is T, table side. After B inbounds the ball, I notice that the arrow stayed with A. As I'm going down court past the table next time down, I motion for them to switch the arrow. They looked at me dumbfounded. At the next break in action, I went to the table and asked them to change the arrow to B. The timer said that my partner told them at the time not to switch the arrow. I ask my partner, who says that the arrow doesn't switch because no one touched the ball inbounds. I said that is a throw in violation on A, and therefore ends the throw in, which means the arrow switches. He was adamant, and was the R for this game, and is more experienced than me; so I didn't press the issue (the game was not close and no one was complaining about the arrow). I still think I was right. I couldn't find a case in the book, but to me 9-2-2 seems to back me up. Opinions?? Also is there any instance where the arrow will not switch, other than fouls prior to the throw in is complete?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 10:54pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
The AP arrow switches when the AP throw-in is legally touched or whenever the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation, which they did here. You were right in insisting the arrow be switched.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 10:54pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Your reasoning is correct but your rule reference is off. It's a combination of 6-4-4, 6-4-5, and 4-42-5.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
Your reasoning is correct but your rule reference is off. It's a combination of 6-4-4, 6-4-5, and 4-42-5.
I agree with this, I was just using 9-2-2 to justify considering this a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 11:10pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Buy your partner a rulebook and give him those four rules...itll be like a scavenger hunt!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2011, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Your ruling was correct, and for the right reason.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2011, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
[QUOTE=bisonpitcher;728819]Opinions?? QUOTE]

In my opinion, you should have asked the "more experienced R"..."how is it that an experienced official who is designated the R for this game, DOES NOT KNOW THE RULE on a simple play like that?"....

i'll leave it up to you whether you ask him on the court or in the locker room...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonpitcher View Post
In a recent MS game, I was administering a AP throw in from the endline. Team A had possession by the arrow. Team B is pressing. A attempts to inbound and ball goes out of bounds on sideline without being touched by either team. I give B possession at the same spot as A's throw in. My partner is T, table side. After B inbounds the ball, I notice that the arrow stayed with A. As I'm going down court past the table next time down, I motion for them to switch the arrow. They looked at me dumbfounded. At the next break in action, I went to the table and asked them to change the arrow to B. The timer said that my partner told them at the time not to switch the arrow. I ask my partner, who says that the arrow doesn't switch because no one touched the ball inbounds. I said that is a throw in violation on A, and therefore ends the throw in, which means the arrow switches. He was adamant, and was the R for this game, and is more experienced than me; so I didn't press the issue (the game was not close and no one was complaining about the arrow). I still think I was right. I couldn't find a case in the book, but to me 9-2-2 seems to back me up. Opinions?? Also is there any instance where the arrow will not switch, other than fouls prior to the throw in is complete?


Yes. If the defensive team kicks the AP throw-in pass the ball is given back to the offense at a spot closest to where the kicking violation occured. This new throw-in is a result of the defensive violation so the arrow remains unchanged.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 03:59pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
[/B]

Yes. If the defensive team kicks the AP throw-in pass the ball is given back to the offense at a spot closest to where the kicking violation occured. This new throw-in is a result of the defensive violation so the arrow remains unchanged.
This is a 9 month old post bumped by a spam bot.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 04:04pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
This is a 9 month old post bumped by a spam bot.
That being said, the question he bolded was never answered. Good refresher.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
This is a 9 month old post bumped by a spam bot.
Didn't even see the date of the post. Wasn't in my PCA!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 04:39pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,901
And this is a play that each and everyone of us will probably have once a year. That means the Spammer did us a favor because it caused us to review this play for the upcoming season.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Didn't even see the date of the post. Wasn't in my PCA!
I didn't notice either. Trusted my partners call. Don't forget to check your lint trap.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 12:20am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Didn't even see the date of the post. Wasn't in my PCA!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
I didn't notice either. Trusted my partners call. Don't forget to check your lint trap.
Gotta have game awareness!
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 537
[QUOTE=Scratch85;799277]I didn't notice either. Trusted my partners call. Don't forget to check your lint trap.[/QUOTE]

Can't forget the old lint trap, right Scratch? That ranks right up there with checking the scorebooks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whose arrow is it, anyway? Stat-Man Basketball 1 Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:46pm
AP arrow Huskerblue Basketball 5 Sat Dec 15, 2007 07:11am
AP Arrow drinkeii Basketball 26 Thu Feb 22, 2007 04:06pm
Arrow? ripcord51 Basketball 4 Tue Dec 19, 2006 08:09am
Who gets the arrow? Back In The Saddle Basketball 8 Sat Mar 01, 2003 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1