![]() |
|
|||
AP Arrow
Probably a simple question, but I'm having trouble finding the result.
Team A gets possession on a jump ball situation. They take the ball out of bounds, and while the player out of bounds has the ball, and while the official is counting their 5 seconds, B2 fouls A2 on the floor. We are not in the bonus. A1 gets the ball back out of bounds. Question: Does the arrow change upon the final pass inbounds, or since the new inbounds pass is a result of a foul and not the AP arrow, do they keep the arrow? Would this change if it resulted in foul shots? (I assume it would not change if there were foul shots, because there was no resulting in bounds pass).
__________________
David A. Rinke II |
|
|||
The subsequent throw-in after the foul is not an AP throw-in. The AP throw-in never completed because of the foul by B2 - therefore the AP arrow does not change. 6-5-5
__________________
I only wanna know ... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
From the Case Book
6.4.5 Situation A: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation.
Ruling: B’s ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B’s basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure. Comment: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4) |
|
|||
Great example of why it's important to have a properly-instructed table crew. A lot of times because I work in church leagues the folks operating the AP arrow don't know the rules and they switch it when the ball gets handed to the player doing the throw in, or they switch it just after you blow the whistle and make the call for a held ball. It gets frustrating.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Can't agree with that.
__________________
I only wanna know ... |
|
||||
Quote:
Let me put it another way. In your scenario; the foul to against A2 happened because A1 was trying to inbound the ball. If the arrow hadn't given the ball to A, then B2 wouldn't have fouled. The arrow did its job. Again, I realize I'm outnumbered here.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The arrow entitles the team to a throw in: they have the right to make it. When does a throw in end? There are very good reasons to say that it ends when another player touches the ball or the team violates. A foul is a very different thing. Nobody is saying that the team has a right to possession: if the other team steals the throw in pass, the arrow gets reversed. |
|
||||
And if a frog had wings.... I know. The difference is that I'm not creating unlikely hypotheticals. Good grief.
I already said I expected disagreement. That's fine. This is just how I see it. It seems arbitrary to me to reverse the arrow on an offensive violation but not on an offensive foul. To me, the arrow gives the thrower the ball; after that all bets should be off because the arrow did its job. You can't say your punishing the team that got fouled during the throwin because they're still getting the ball that the arrow provided. This should go without saying, but I'm not out there enforcing it the way I think it should be; I'm enforcing it the way it is. BTW, had a scorer in a middle school game not change the arrow because the pass was stolen. ![]()
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Evenso, if the foul occurs, then they don;t get their throw-in, do they? Changing the rule for the sake of making it easier isn't a reason.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball Last edited by Stat-Man; Wed Feb 21, 2007 at 10:48pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
You're right, it's not a reason. It's not my reason either. ![]() But, I'm tilting at windmills.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Arrow? | ripcord51 | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 19, 2006 08:09am |
arrow? | jr | Basketball | 5 | Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:36pm |
Where is the arrow? | lukealex | Basketball | 16 | Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:54pm |
Arrow | gostars | Basketball | 5 | Wed Nov 24, 2004 03:28pm |
Who gets the arrow? | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 8 | Sat Mar 01, 2003 02:39pm |