![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Advantage Not Intended By A Rule ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 30, 2011 at 03:42pm. |
|
|||
|
Okay, reviewing the situation, here's my opinion. In your play, A1 fumbled the ball. It is now a loose ball on the floor. If B1 reaches the ball first and pushes it away from A1, this is not in any way illegal, nor is it a dribble. If B1 subsequently picks up the ball, he would be free to dribble. A1 should have an equal opportunity to recover the ball by pushing it away from the defense. He just would not have a dribble after he recovered the ball.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Player control is defined as holding or dribbling the ball. The usual criteria for judging player control is whether the ball came to rest in/on a player's hands(s). And that's always a judgment call.
By rule, there is no player control during a fumble/muff. Soooooo....during a fumble/muff we should be looking for 4 things: 1) a foul because of contact giving one player an illegal advantage 2) player control being established 3) somebody with OOB status touching the ball 4) the offensive team touching the ball first in the backcourt if the fumble/muff went frontcourt to backcourt after having beein in team control in the frontcourt and an offensive player touched it last in the frontcourt. If a foul occurs, call it. If player control is established, go to the appropriate rule for that situation i.e. traveling, illegal second dribble, etc. If the ball goes OOB or a backcourt violation occurs, call those also. Other than that, quit thinking so damn much! ![]() KISS! Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Jan 30, 2011 at 04:06pm. |
|
|||
|
Too Bad, They Were Happy Thoughts ...
Maybe I should tell you what I really think of you? Wait a minute? You suggested that I quite thinking so damn much. So I can't tell you. Nevermind.
(Reminds me of the old joke about the coach who asks the official if he can be charged with a technical foul for just thinking something.)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
The Crux Of The Matter ...
Is tapping the ball along the floor in a controlled manner the same as having player control?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Would you call a timeout if one was asked? I'm not and therefore no player control.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Bingo ...
Pick a prize from the top shelf.
I've actually been waiting for someone to bring up that question. It's a great question, one that has been used before on the Forum, I believe, most recently, regarding an offensive player tapping a rebound to a teammate in the backcourt. I find it odd that the NFHS would leave us with a revolving door type definition. If the official would grant a time out under such and such circumstance, then the player has player control. Also in order to grant a live ball timeout, a player on the team in control must have player control. Maybe a definition of "holding a ball" would be helpful? cat_chasing_tail ÔÚÏß¹Û¿´ - ¿á6ÊÓÆµ
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 30, 2011 at 05:25pm. |
|
|||
|
Time Out ???
In a "had to be there scenario", yes, I would. So, I guess that means that he had player control. And, I guess that since he moved his pivot foot while having player control (I know that he wasn't dribbling, so he must have then "holding" the ball, no other choice), then he traveled.
Still doesn't feel right. So that means that in the situations where a player taps a rebound in the air like a volleyball for eighty-four feet, or bobbles a ball after catching a pass for eighty-four feet, or plays pinball with a ball on the floor for eighty-four feet, the only way we can rule this illegal is if we would have granted a timeout in those situations? There has to be a better way. Something is rotten in the state of the NFHS (Apologizes to Billy Shakespeare)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 30, 2011 at 05:27pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you legitimately feel that the ball came to rest during an 84-foot tap/bobble/fumble/muff/etc., then apply the applicable rules at that point of the play. But don't rule that the ball came to rest just because the play happens to offend your idea of how the game should be played. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Jan 30, 2011 at 06:01pm. |
|
|||
|
Nail On The Head ...
Quote:
I can't imagine any Forum member allowing these plays to go on longer than several feet without sounding their whistle. Can you?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Why not? If the defense allows an offensive player to go the length of the court and do that, then that's on them. Nothing illegal.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Billy, I would hope that every forum member would let these plays go on until a violation, foul or the end of a period occurred. There's no reason under the rules to stop play before that.
|
|
|||
|
Is tapping a rebound in a controlled manner to a teammate or to yourself considered the same as having player control?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| What is the correct call? | ozzy6900 | Baseball | 41 | Fri Oct 24, 2008 05:33pm |
| Is My Call Correct? | RCBSports | Basketball | 7 | Mon Mar 17, 2008 04:12pm |
| Was this the correct call | LouisianaDave | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:32pm |
| Correct Call? | scottbono | Baseball | 18 | Thu Jun 30, 2005 08:36pm |
| What is the correct call ? | msoa | Basketball | 14 | Fri Jan 07, 2000 01:30am |