The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
You would probably then end up with a 5-second violation if the players don't recognize what happens and goes back to make a proper throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 11:27am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Now, if you had said he stepped a little bit on the court..... well, that opens up a whole new school of thought and discussion.
You would probably then end up with a 5-second violation if the players don't recognize what happens and goes back to make a proper throw-in.
This is an immediate throw-in violation. Don't wait for the 5-second count. The NFHS issued an interp on this a few years ago. I'm sure it's in the "archive" thread.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
This is an immediate throw-in violation. Don't wait for the 5-second count. The NFHS issued an interp on this a few years ago. I'm sure it's in the "archive" thread.
Pretty sure its only an immediate violation if it becomes apparent that they will not be making the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 12:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Pretty sure its only an immediate violation if it becomes apparent that they will not be making the throw-in.
Sort of.
A1 steps towards out of bounds but doesn't quite make it before throwing to A2. The only way I'm not calling this immediately is if A2 is on his way OOB or stationary. And if he's stationary, his next move determines whether I call it. If he's at all heading "the other way" it's an immediate violation.

You should never get to 5 (unless you were already at 4).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 12:43pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Pretty sure its only an immediate violation if it becomes apparent that they will not be making the throw-in.
Pretty sure you're wrong. I tried to tell you that the NFHS issued an interp specifically on this situation. Here it is:

1997 Interpretations:

Quote:
SITUATION #4: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds, throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). (9-2-5) COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 01:24pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Pretty sure you're wrong. I tried to tell you that the NFHS issued an interp specifically on this situation. Here it is:

1997 Interpretations:
That interpretation is now case book play 9.2.5SitA. Has been for a few years.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 01:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Pretty sure its only an immediate violation if it becomes apparent that they will not be making the throw-in.
I'm pretty sure that you're wrong as per case book play 9.2.5SitA. It's the exact same play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 01:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
You would probably then end up with a 5-second violation if the players don't recognize what happens and goes back to make a proper throw-in.
No, you should call an immediate violation as per case book 9.2.2SitC.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BC Violation Refsmitty Basketball 15 Fri Jan 23, 2009 09:24am
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
FT Violation jshock Basketball 13 Sun Nov 18, 2001 10:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1