Thread: Violation?
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 12:43pm
Scrapper1 Scrapper1 is offline
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Pretty sure its only an immediate violation if it becomes apparent that they will not be making the throw-in.
Pretty sure you're wrong. I tried to tell you that the NFHS issued an interp specifically on this situation. Here it is:

1997 Interpretations:

Quote:
SITUATION #4: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds, throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). (9-2-5) COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.
Reply With Quote