The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61443-violation.html)

The R Sun Jan 30, 2011 08:52am

Violation?
 
BJV game. A8 scores. B2 has possession of ball and steps one foot out of bounds and lifts the other over a spot inbounds. The ball never passes through the line out of bounds.
So he has something out and nothing touching inbounds while holding the ball on the inbounds side of the line. He passes to B4.

Legal play or violation?
NFHS rules.


The crew whistled a violation and team A was awarded the ball for a throw in.

OnePutt Sun Jan 30, 2011 08:58am

All you need to establish in or out of bounds is one foot. Ball position is not a factor.

Bad Zebra Sun Jan 30, 2011 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The R (Post 723554)
...So he has something out and nothing touching inbounds while holding the ball on the inbounds side of the line...

Legal Play. Player is out of bounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by The R (Post 723554)
The crew whistled a violation and team A was awarded the ball for a throw in.

Are you 100% sure the players foot was completely out?

grunewar Sun Jan 30, 2011 09:27am

OOO. Happens all the time.

Now, if you had said he stepped a little bit on the court..... well, that opens up a whole new school of thought and discussion.

The R Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:29am

From my angle the foot was 100% OOB. (I was sitting quite a few rows up to the side of the baseline where this happened.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 723566)
Legal Play. Player is out of bounds.

Are you 100% sure the players foot was completely out?


The R Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 723571)
OOO. Happens all the time.

Now, if you had said he stepped a little bit on the court..... well, that opens up a whole new school of thought and discussion.

Hey Grune let's say he was never completly OOB and passed the ball in....

SNIPERBBB Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:38am

You would probably then end up with a 5-second violation if the players don't recognize what happens and goes back to make a proper throw-in.

grunewar Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:50am

Ed Zackery!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The R (Post 723592)
Hey Grune let's say he was never completly OOB and passed the ball in....

Let me ask this, on inbounding endline violations do you ALWAYS blow the whistle or only sometimes? 30 point blowout? Only during a close game? When there's no one there but you and the player to see it (and the player doesn't even know)? 5th grade level? Varsity HS level?

Game management vs so what vs who cares vs really?

Scrapper1 Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 723571)
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 723595)
Now, if you had said he stepped a little bit on the court..... well, that opens up a whole new school of thought and discussion.

You would probably then end up with a 5-second violation if the players don't recognize what happens and goes back to make a proper throw-in.

This is an immediate throw-in violation. Don't wait for the 5-second count. The NFHS issued an interp on this a few years ago. I'm sure it's in the "archive" thread.

Scrapper1 Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 723601)
Let me ask this, on inbounding endline violations do you ALWAYS blow the whistle or only sometimes? 30 point blowout? Only during a close game? When there's no one there but you and the player to see it (and the player doesn't even know)? 5th grade level? Varsity HS level?

Game management vs so what vs who cares vs really?

This was recently NOT called in a University of Kansas game, where there was no pressure on the throw-in, and it ended up on the Arbiter in a video bulletin telling NCAA officials to call it, regardless of time/score/pressure.

Adam Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 723623)
This was recently NOT called in a University of Kansas game, where there was no pressure on the throw-in, and it ended up on the Arbiter in a video bulletin telling NCAA officials to call it, regardless of time/score/pressure.

We discussed it here, too. Thanks for adding this, as I wondered if the officials would be getting the official finger wag (proverbially, of course).

SNIPERBBB Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 723621)
This is an immediate throw-in violation. Don't wait for the 5-second count. The NFHS issued an interp on this a few years ago. I'm sure it's in the "archive" thread.

Pretty sure its only an immediate violation if it becomes apparent that they will not be making the throw-in.

Adam Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 723649)
Pretty sure its only an immediate violation if it becomes apparent that they will not be making the throw-in.

Sort of.
A1 steps towards out of bounds but doesn't quite make it before throwing to A2. The only way I'm not calling this immediately is if A2 is on his way OOB or stationary. And if he's stationary, his next move determines whether I call it. If he's at all heading "the other way" it's an immediate violation.

You should never get to 5 (unless you were already at 4).

Scrapper1 Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 723649)
Pretty sure its only an immediate violation if it becomes apparent that they will not be making the throw-in.

Pretty sure you're wrong. I tried to tell you that the NFHS issued an interp specifically on this situation. Here it is:

1997 Interpretations:

Quote:

SITUATION #4: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds, throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). (9-2-5) COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 30, 2011 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 723680)
Pretty sure you're wrong. I tried to tell you that the NFHS issued an interp specifically on this situation. Here it is:

1997 Interpretations:

That interpretation is now case book play 9.2.5SitA. Has been for a few years.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1