![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'm not sure this is entirely clear in the rules book. My first glance at this would be that it depends on whether he muffed or fumbled - if he muffed it and never had control, I probably don't have a violation. If he had possession out of bounds, he was then under throw-in rules and would have violated by fumbling, the ball entering the court, and m being the first to pick it up. You probably have a violation before that for failing to throw the ball directly onto the court.
IMO, this, in the end, is judgement on whether he truly possessed the ball and was legally out of bounds before everything else happened. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Mark: I agree with you. If the official judges that the ball is at the disposal of the team for a throw-in, then a five second count should start and if the thrower is a klutz that is his problem not the official's problem; assuming that the level of play is H.S. or higher. I might be more lenient for JrHS or lowering, but it would be a HTBT sort of play. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Quote:
thanks! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And I definitely would have brought it back in the OP and started over if I had not started me count yet, which it sounds like the official in the OP had not. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Line up NF | benbret | Basketball | 2 | Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:10pm |
| Free kick line behind the goal line | starman | Football | 9 | Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:33pm |
| Line-Up | whiskers_ump | Softball | 6 | Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:11am |
| 30% from the line | BMA | Basketball | 5 | Thu Jan 31, 2002 09:34am |
| The Line | Doug | Basketball | 4 | Sat Dec 08, 2001 01:40pm |