The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2002, 01:21pm
BMA BMA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 32
I know most of you work games where the teams shot free throws at 90%.
But here is my confusion.
What is the call(s)for the following

(A) Air ball on the first of one & one.

(B) Air ball on second of one & one

Same questions when team is in the bonus.
__________________
BMA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2002, 01:35pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Air ball on first or second of a one and one=

whistle, award ball to other team on endline for a spot throw in.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2002, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to SHellmueller Send a message via AIM to SHellmueller
You also said "same question when team is in the bonus." I'm going to assume the second part of your question has to do with the "double bonus" rather than the bonus, since we've already covered the one-plus-one. So, in the case of two shots, with the FT shooter being A1

A1 airballs first = nothing, player gets second shot
A1 airballs second = same as bonus situation, B's ball on endline, spot throw-in

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2002, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 294
Send a message via ICQ to BigDave
Don't forget...

The shot must touch "iron". If it hits the backboard, but no rim, it is still a violation.
__________________
my favorite food is a whistle
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2002, 09:09am
BMA BMA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 32
Thanks SHellmueler on the double bouns part.

BigDave, on your respones thanks also, but what happens when team A is down by a point and the shooter intentional tries to miss and the ball just hit the backboard, I think we have all see this play at the end of the game.
Would this become a judgement call on the violation.
__________________
BMA
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2002, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
a violation is a violation

BMA,

If a team is down 2 with 6 seconds to play, are you going to let the point guard take three extra steps without calling travelling? I hope not!

No iron = violation, regardless of the time left in the game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1