![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
When did we start doing indoor track where the scoreboard displays hundreths of a second?
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson |
|
|||
Quote:
Besides which, the post was corrected 7 hours before your post. |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree that it's very unlikely that there will be sufficient time for a tipped ball to be tapped. However, unlike a ball that's caught with 0.3 seconds left, you must actually judge whether the tap got off instead of it being dead by rule. |
|
|||
A suggestion for editorial revision: When play is resumed and the clock shows .3 or less, when any player gains control, the period shall be over.
As written now, consider the following, if you want to split hairs. A1 throws in to A2, who quickly catches and lobs toward the basket. A3 tips in in, clearly before the buzzer. I think we would agree that the intent is that it should not, but........
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
No reason the Fed couldn't clarify to say that the first touching - regardless of if it's a tip or a tap or a bat or whatever - utilizes the .3 or less time, and any subsequent touching would occur after the horn. |
|
|||
A lot of people might argue that it is possible, but it doesn't matter if it's possible or not, because it is not allowed. A catch, toss, and tap in .3 likely isn't possible, but by rule, as currently written, it is allowed. The proposed revision would simply close this admittedly tiny loophole. The point of this rule is to remove judgment, and the possible complication of whether or not the clock was properly started.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
As far as the editorial clarification, I don't think it's needed. Usually a clarification is needed when there is a misunderstanding about a situation. I don't know an official alive who would allow your "loophole" JAR.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
The rule states with .3 or less, a player (meaning one player) can tap the ball and acore. It does not say two players can tap the ball and still score.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
It doesn't matter whether the tap was glancing or not - by rule, with under .3 seconds to play, there is only time for one player to tap the ball.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
.6 seconds left | RookieDude | Basketball | 17 | Tue Feb 12, 2008 07:49am |
T on Coach with 10 seconds left | hbioteach | Basketball | 47 | Thu Feb 08, 2007 03:07pm |
25 seconds left | Nyjets | Football | 10 | Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:47am |
Situation with 5 seconds left | Ref_ Fred | Basketball | 20 | Mon May 15, 2006 02:09pm |
Inboudn play with 2.8 seconds left | jarecker1 | Basketball | 89 | Mon Dec 20, 2004 01:32pm |