The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #166 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 06:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
No technical foul was called at all in post #6. We are talking about a different situation. You keep talking about the whistle. When the whistle occurred means nothing. The foul could be called without a whistle.
Did you even read post #6?

And really? How do you propose to call a foul without a whistle in this situation?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
Nope. JR was discussing the wrinkle in several posts. He said some stupid things then tried to cover it up by saying he was talking about #6.
Here you're just wrong. He absolutely was discussing post #6 the entire time; even if others (including me) didn't quite realize it. As I said, you guys were arguing past each other.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post

No I'm not. There is no time limit to go back and call a foul. But at some point it just becomes too long even though the rules still allow the foul to be called. Same thing with violations. No one is going to go back and call traveling from 5 minutes ago even though the rules allow it to be done.
2-10 lists the errors that may be corrected and the time frame in which such correction must be made. No where is a travel listed in that, so I'd say the rules in fact do not allow you to go back and call a travel from several plays before.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #167 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
And really? How do you propose to call a foul without a whistle in this situation?
The same way as in any other situation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Here you're just wrong. He absolutely was discussing post #6 the entire time; even if others (including me) didn't quite realize it. As I said, you guys were arguing past each other.
Sorry, but you are wrong. Here he is directly quoting the situation in which the technical foul is called on the thrower and he said the ball is "dead on the whistle."

http://forum.officiating.com/714165-post24.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
2-10 lists the errors that may be corrected and the time frame in which such correction must be made. No where is a travel listed in that, so I'd say the rules in fact do not allow you to go back and call a travel from several plays before.
That has nothing to do with this play. There was no error. The official just took longer than normal to call the violation after it occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #168 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 07:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
The same way as in any other situation.
I've never called a foul during action without a whistle, so you'll have to enlighten me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
Sorry, but you are wrong. Here he is directly quoting the situation in which the technical foul is called on the thrower and he said the ball is "dead on the whistle."

http://forum.officiating.com/714165-post24.html
Yeah, he said it was dead on the whistle, which I take (knowing how well he knows the rules) as a mis-speak rather than an error in rules knowledge. But reading it with the understanding that he was talking about the TF mentioned in post #6, it's all the more clear. He was assuming the TF that was being discussed was (a) after the basket and (b) on the team who had just been screwed by the officials' inability to pay attention.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
That has nothing to do with this play. There was no error. The official just took longer than normal to call the violation after it occurred.
It's the only place that talks about the ability to fix a mistake, and that's exactly what a missed travel call is. I wouldn't say the rules allow for fixing that error; even though the precise limit on "when is too late" isn't really specified.

I'm obviously giving Jurassic more benefit of the doubt than you are; but he's earned it on this board quite frankly.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #169 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Redux

So I posit that everybody has become confused about who is talking about what.

Let me see if I can resolve this.

Cobra is saying that he can go back and call a foul from the start of the first half if he realizes it was a foul with 5 seconds left in the game. If so all subsequent action happened during a dead ball since the foul made the ball dead. No one agrees with him.

JR is saying that if the ball is erroneously inbounded then it has become live. Only Cobra disagrees on this point.

Camron is saying that if right after the ball is inbounded the V coach says something to merit a technical and he decides to call it that the ball is dead when the coach says it even if he drops his whistle and makes the call a second or two later. The foul made the ball dead and the whistle was just making it official. It's not clear to me if JR agrees or not.

He further envisions that in some early numbered post this is what was happening here. JR disagrees that the early numbered post describes that situation.

JR is saying that if the three is shot and then the official decides to call a technical that the ball was not dead when shot and the three counts. It's not clear to me if Camron agrees or not.

Does this capture everyone's viewpoint or is there more?
________
Vapir no2 vaporizer

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #170 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 07:41pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
So I posit that everybody has become confused about who is talking about what.

Let me see if I can resolve this.

Cobra is saying that he can go back and call a foul from the start of the first half if he realizes it was a foul with 5 seconds left in the game. If so all subsequent action happened during a dead ball since the foul made the ball dead. No one agrees with him.

JR is saying that if the ball is erroneously inbounded then it has become live. Only Cobra disagrees on this point.

Camron is saying that if right after the ball is inbounded the V coach says something to merit a technical and he decides to call it that the ball is dead when the coach says it even if he drops his whistle and makes the call a second or two later. The foul made the ball dead and the whistle was just making it official. It's not clear to me if JR agrees or not.

He further envisions that in some early numbered post this is what was happening here. JR disagrees that the early numbered post describes that situation.

JR is saying that if the three is shot and then the official decides to call a technical that the ball was not dead when shot and the three counts. It's not clear to me if Camron agrees or not.

Does this capture everyone's viewpoint or is there more?
Pretty good summary! The only change would be that JR is saying that if the 3 point shot is MADE and THEN the official decides to call the T, you don't take the 3 points off the board.
Reply With Quote
  #171 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 07:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
pretty good summary! The only change would be that jr is saying that if the 3 point shot is made and then the official decides to call the t, you don't take the 3 points off the board.
+1
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #172 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
SNAQ I have called MANY fouls with out a whistle. However, it was in my capacity as an assistant coach (Yell: "Hold Up. White/Blue out.) a player in a pick up game (You got it if you want it) or as a fan (WOW, there should have been a foul there)
So as you can see, it IS possible to call a foul without a whistle!!
Reply With Quote
  #173 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 08:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
SNAQ I have called MANY fouls with out a whistle. However, it was in my capacity as an assistant coach (Yell: "Hold Up. White/Blue out.) a player in a pick up game (You got it if you want it) or as a fan (WOW, there should have been a foul there)
So as you can see, it IS possible to call a foul without a whistle!!
Like the calls I make from my living room? Now I understand.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #174 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 08:57pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
1) Yeah, he said it was dead on the whistle, which I take (knowing how well he knows the rules) as a mis-speak rather than an error in rules knowledge. But reading it with the understanding that he was talking about the TF mentioned in post #6, it's all the more clear. He was assuming the TF that was being discussed was (a) after the basket and (b) on the team who had just been screwed by the officials' inability to pay attention.

2) It's the only place that talks about the ability to fix a mistake, and that's exactly what a missed travel call is. I wouldn't say the rules allow for fixing that error; even though the precise limit on "when is too late" isn't really specified.
1) Yes, I was assuming that because that was the only whistle that was ever blown in post #6. I can't seriously consider as being logical that you can have a technical foul occur right after a throw-in, a team then goes up court and takes a 3-pointer and makes it, and after the made 3-pointer there's an argument resulting in a whistle for a technical foul..... and there's still hasn't been a whistle ever been blown for the original technical foul that occurred right after the throw-in ended. But we're supposed to think the ball was dead through all that. Maybe it's just me, but I just can't buy the logic on that one.

2) There's no precise time limit set between a foul or violation occuring and the whistle for that foul or violation but there is common sense plus an understanding of what is usually expected from us as officials. A patient whistle is good sometimes..... not all the time..... but if you see a foul or violation occur and you don't blow your whistle for that foul or violation within about 2 or 3 seconds max, you might as well let it go because the play is now usually long gone. Hell, the play might be half the court away in that 2 or 3 seconds. And if you want to wait for...gasp...more than 5 seconds to blow your whistle after a foul or violation occured, well, all I can say is good luck to in your new job as one of chseagle's assistants. There's real life out there. And that is why I can't really take any of Cobra's arguments seriously.

Jmo fwiw....

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Jan 13, 2011 at 08:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #175 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 09:05pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
I'm on board with post #7
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #176 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I've never called a foul during action without a whistle, so you'll have to enlighten me.
Just yell for them to stop or something. The point is that sounding the whistle is not required by rule in order to call a foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Yeah, he said it was dead on the whistle, which I take (knowing how well he knows the rules) as a mis-speak rather than an error in rules knowledge.
Yes, that makes sense. But it was not a single incident. It is possible to have something come out wrong in a post. But when it is happening multiple times then it is more of a rules knowledge problem than a rules explaining problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
If you haven't decided to call the "T" or had not blown your whistle before the ball left the shooter's hands on the 3-point attempt, you have no rules justication that I know of to then cancel the 3-point basket if it goes. The ball is live until the try is made or missed.
When an official decides to call a foul or sounds the whistle has no bearing on when the ball becomes dead. The ball becomes dead when the foul occurs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Cobra is saying that he can go back and call a foul from the start of the first half if he realizes it was a foul with 5 seconds left in the game. If so all subsequent action happened during a dead ball since the foul made the ball dead. No one agrees with him.
All I have said is that there is time limit under the rules for calling fouls and violations. Other people agree with this. Other people disagree but have not provided a rules citation.


Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
JR is saying that if the ball is erroneously inbounded then it has become live. Only Cobra disagrees on this point.
The ball would become live when it is at the disposal of the thrower, not when inbounded. But if there a foul before it is at his disposal then the ball would remain dead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
He further envisions that in some early numbered post this is what was happening here. JR disagrees that the early numbered post describes that situation.
Cameron came up with his own situation which involved a technical foul being called on the thrower.

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
JR is saying that if the three is shot and then the official decides to call a technical that the ball was not dead when shot and the three counts. It's not clear to me if Camron agrees or not.
Cameron does not agree with that. The ball becomes or remains dead when the foul occurs. The fact that it took the official a couple of seconds to call it does not change anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
2) There's no precise time limit set between a foul or violation occuring and the whistle for that foul or violation but there is common sense plus an understanding of what is usually expected from us as officials. A patient whistle is good sometimes..... not all the time..... but if you see a foul or violation occur and you don't blow your whistle for that foul or violation within about 2 or 3 seconds max, you might as well let it go because the play is now usually long gone. Hell, the play might be half the court away in that 2 or 3 seconds. And if you want to wait for...gasp...more than 5 seconds to blow your whistle after a foul or violation occured, well, all I can say is good luck to in your new job as one of chseagle's assistants. There's real life out there. And that is why I can't really take any of Cobra's arguments seriously.
I never said that officials should be going back and calling fouls which occurred earlier. All I said is that there are no rules against doing so.
Reply With Quote
  #177 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 09:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
Yes, that makes sense. But it was not a single incident. It is possible to have something come out wrong in a post. But when it is happening multiple times then it is more of a rules knowledge problem than a rules explaining problem.
If you want to go on thinking JR doesn't know the fundamentals based on a misunderstanding of which play was being discussed, go ahead and make that mistake. I really don't care. I personally wouldn't hang my hat on that, but you're free to.

If you want to think he's an a$$ for the way he's discussed this with you, go ahead. You won't be alone, and he won't really care.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #178 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 09:59pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
The official knows that the team is stepping out of bounds with the intent to get the ball when they know it isn't theirs. Right then the foul occurs. What did we say happens when a foul occurs? The ball remains dead. So the player then receives the ball from one of the officials and everyone runs around like the ball is live even though it is actually dead. The ball is passed around, the ball ends up going through the basket. Even though the players were acting as if the ball was live it was actually dead the entire time so it is not a goal.

Just remember that all fouls are called retroactively. The foul occurs which causes the ball to become or remain dead. At some point after that the official will call the foul. If the ball goes though the basket before the official calls the foul it doesn't count as a score because the ball was actually dead.
Grin.

You just can't make something like this up, folks.

And I ain't gonna argue with him either.
Reply With Quote
  #179 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 11:12pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Grin.

You just can't make something like this up, folks.

And I ain't gonna argue with him either.
I'm just wondering why Cobra won't address the correlation between the original argument and the play I put out there about a Tech on the defense's coach during a fast break.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #180 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2011, 01:22am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I'm just wondering why Cobra won't address the correlation between the original argument and the play I put out there about a Tech on the defense's coach during a fast break.
I have to agree with his take, if you call a T on the offense for something they did right before the shooter releases his shot. The shot doesn't count, even if your whistle doesn't sound until the shot is in the air. Same as if A2 is called for an TC foul just prior to the shot.

As Camron noted, the case play is clear on what to do if the defensive coach (or player) pops off here. When I thought JR was discussing Camron's T on team B, I asked this very same question.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possesion arrow indicators for whistles Love2ref4Ever Basketball 67 Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:41am
possesion arrow refbater Basketball 6 Thu Dec 11, 2008 02:54pm
possesion arrow bball4ever Basketball 8 Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:00pm
Technicals at Halftime - What happens to the possesion arrow? bradfordwilkins Basketball 6 Sat Mar 05, 2005 01:29pm
Alternate Possesion Arrow ngilref Basketball 2 Mon Nov 26, 2001 10:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1