The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Possesion Arrow Error

We had a Jump ball call. The Possesion Arrow was pointed to team A. The ball was rewarded to Team A, and inbounded. Team B then Fouls Team A on a shot attempt. When the Official goes and reports the foul, he is told that Team B should have gotten possesion on the Jump Ball. What is the Correct Ruling in this Case.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 11:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Play on, once the throwin pass is completed (touched inbounds), it's too late to correct.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by notredame2 View Post
We had a HELD ball call. The Possesion Arrow was pointed to team A. The ball was rewarded to Team A, and inbounded. Team B then Fouls Team A on a shot attempt. When the Official goes and reports the foul, he is told that Team B should have gotten possesion on the Jump Ball. What is the Correct Ruling in this Case.
There fixed it for ya!

Once the throw-in has ended, it's too late to correct.

Team B gets the next AP.

Welcome to the forum!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 11:44pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
"Team B gets two of the next three."
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 07:48am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
"Team B gets two of the next three."

Beat me to it. LOL

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 41
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 11:20am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfpdi View Post
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.
What's an 11-letter word beginning with "cluster"?
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfpdi View Post
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.
Which "him" got the T? The V coach or the H coach?

Even it is not correctable, it is T'able. The fact that the coach said something the moment it was inbounds indicates they did it on purpose. That is an unsporting T.

The only case play that is close is the one where the scoring team deliberate takes the ball OOB (when it should be the other team's ball) and throws it in. But that is close enough for me. They're going to lose that 3 pointer (it was a dead ball), give up 2 FTs and the ball.

The H coach had every right to be pissed. The officials gave the other team the ball incorrectly at the end of the game when likely had a big impact. I'd give him a very long leash on that one.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Jan 09, 2011 at 07:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfpdi View Post
As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable.
I'm with Camron...

...sounds pre-meditated to me...WHACK!
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2011, 02:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfpdi View Post
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.
Let me go on the record on this one too from a rules standpoint.

-the awarding of a throw-in to the wrong team was an is an official's error
-as soon as the official administering the throw-in gave the thrower the ball, the ball became live(rule 6-1-2b)
-the throw-in ended when a V player on the court legally touched the ball(rule 4-42-5a)
- the 3-point shot counts because it was made with a live ball ( rule 5-1-1)

Once the throw-in ended, it was too late to change anything, including giving the wrong team the ball for the throw-in(case book play 6.4.1SitD) or voiding the made 3-point shot. You administer the 2 free throws for the technical foul on the H coach and give the V the ball for the throw-in.

And if anyone disagrees with that, please cite RULES to support your stance.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2011, 02:40pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfpdi View Post
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.
Yo, cobra.....

Please let all of us know what foul was called above other than the the technical foul called on the H coach AFTER the 3-point shot. I sureashell can't find one.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2011, 03:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfpdi View Post
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.
1. B steps in for A's throw-in.
2. As soon as the throw-in is complete, coach is up saying it can't be corrected.
3. B1 makes a 3.
4. A coach goes ballistic.

Assuming the coach's comments come before the 3, there's an argument to be made that the ball becomes dead at that point; but are you really going to say you called a T on the coach for reminding you of the rule? You'd have to hit the whistle pretty quick to pull this off, IMO.

I've got no real problem with the T if your gut tells you coach planned the whole thing. But if it took me until after the 3 was made to figure it out, I'd have to question how "sure" I was.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2011, 04:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfpdi View Post
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.
See SITUATION #1 of the 2002-03 Basketball Rules Interpretations linked below...

A1 calls a 60-second time-out in the backcourt. After the time-out ended, the official erroneously awards team B the ball for a sideline throw-in.
RULING: This is not a correctable error situation; play shall continue.


http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html

Rules rulz!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
An "Uncorrectable Error" due to the lack of focus of the crew! These are the things that become second nature with experience....You must observe so much more than just the action of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2011, 07:01am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by notredame2 View Post
We had a Jump ball call. The Possesion Arrow was pointed to team A. The ball was rewarded to Team A, and inbounded. Team B then Fouls Team A on a shot attempt. When the Official goes and reports the foul, he is told that Team B should have gotten possesion on the Jump Ball. What is the Correct Ruling in this Case.
Sigh....

Back to Square 1 again....so there is absolutely no confusion.

The correct ruling in this case is that the play stands as written.Team A will shoot the free throws for the foul on the shot attempt and team B will get the arrow.

Nothing that happened above can be changed by rule. And the pertinent rules and case plays have already been cited.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possesion arrow indicators for whistles Love2ref4Ever Basketball 67 Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:41am
possesion arrow refbater Basketball 6 Thu Dec 11, 2008 02:54pm
possesion arrow bball4ever Basketball 8 Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:00pm
Technicals at Halftime - What happens to the possesion arrow? bradfordwilkins Basketball 6 Sat Mar 05, 2005 01:29pm
Alternate Possesion Arrow ngilref Basketball 2 Mon Nov 26, 2001 10:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1