The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Possesion Arrow Error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60419-possesion-arrow-error.html)

notredame2 Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:23pm

Possesion Arrow Error
 
We had a Jump ball call. The Possesion Arrow was pointed to team A. The ball was rewarded to Team A, and inbounded. Team B then Fouls Team A on a shot attempt. When the Official goes and reports the foul, he is told that Team B should have gotten possesion on the Jump Ball. What is the Correct Ruling in this Case.

Adam Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:28pm

Play on, once the throwin pass is completed (touched inbounds), it's too late to correct.

BktBallRef Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by notredame2 (Post 713708)
We had a HELD ball call. The Possesion Arrow was pointed to team A. The ball was rewarded to Team A, and inbounded. Team B then Fouls Team A on a shot attempt. When the Official goes and reports the foul, he is told that Team B should have gotten possesion on the Jump Ball. What is the Correct Ruling in this Case.

There fixed it for ya! :)

Once the throw-in has ended, it's too late to correct.

Team B gets the next AP.

Welcome to the forum!

JugglingReferee Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:44pm

"Team B gets two of the next three." :eek:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 09, 2011 07:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 713715)
"Team B gets two of the next three." :eek:


Beat me to it. LOL

MTD, Sr.

Jfpdi Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:13am

recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.

26 Year Gap Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jfpdi (Post 713766)
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.

What's an 11-letter word beginning with "cluster"?

JugglingReferee Sun Jan 09, 2011 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 713767)
What's an 11-letter word beginning with "cluster"?

Oh Oh! I know!

Camron Rust Sun Jan 09, 2011 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jfpdi (Post 713766)
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.

Which "him" got the T? The V coach or the H coach?

Even it is not correctable, it is T'able. The fact that the coach said something the moment it was inbounds indicates they did it on purpose. That is an unsporting T.

The only case play that is close is the one where the scoring team deliberate takes the ball OOB (when it should be the other team's ball) and throws it in. But that is close enough for me. They're going to lose that 3 pointer (it was a dead ball), give up 2 FTs and the ball.

The H coach had every right to be pissed. The officials gave the other team the ball incorrectly at the end of the game when likely had a big impact. I'd give him a very long leash on that one.

RookieDude Sun Jan 09, 2011 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jfpdi (Post 713766)
As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable.

I'm with Camron...

...sounds pre-meditated to me...WHACK!

Loudwhistle Sun Jan 09, 2011 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 713849)
Which "him" got the T? The V coach or the H coach?

Even it is not correctable, it is T'able. The fact that the coach said something the moment it was inbounds indicates they did it on purpose. That is an unsporting T.

The only case play that is close is the one where the scoring team deliberate takes the ball OOB (when it should be the other team's ball) and throws it in. But that is close enough for me. They're going to lose that 3 pointer (it was a dead ball), give up 2 FTs and the ball.

The H coach had every right to be pissed. The officials gave the other team the ball incorrectly at the end of the game when likely had a big impact. I'd give him a very long leash on that one.

Cameron,
I agree with your line of thinking as far as T-ing up the V coach, but wouldn't the three pointer have to count by rule because the reff handed the v player the ball and the throwin was legally completed?

BktBallRef Sun Jan 09, 2011 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Loudwhistle (Post 713899)
Cameron,
I agree with your line of thinking as far as T-ing up the V coach, but wouldn't the three pointer have to count by rule because the reff handed the v player the ball and the throwin was legally completed?

The case play Camron is referring to.

A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT
10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket.
RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with a technical foul; (b) cancel the field goal; (c) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any nonflagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (d) put “consumed” time back on the clock.
COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no technical foul would be charged. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball.

Loudwhistle Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 713903)
The case play Camron is referring to.

A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT
10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket.
RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with a technical foul; (b) cancel the field goal; (c) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any nonflagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (d) put “consumed” time back on the clock.
COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no technical foul would be charged. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball.

Thanks BBRF, sorry Cameron, see the whole picture now.

Adam Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:41pm

the difference is, in the OP, the wrong team wouldn't have gotten a throw-in without the ref's complicity. In the case play, it's following a made basket so the ref never touches the ball.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Loudwhistle (Post 713899)
Cameron,
I agree with your line of thinking as far as T-ing up the V coach, but wouldn't the three pointer have to count by rule because the reff handed the v player the ball and the throwin was legally completed?

The throwin can't be corrected but the 3-pointer was made AFTER the throwin was completed. They effectively shot a dead ball...even if it took a moment for the official to realize what just happened.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1