![]() |
|
|||
An "Uncorrectable Error" due to the lack of focus of the crew! These are the things that become second nature with experience....You must observe so much more than just the action of the game.
|
|
|||
Quote:
NFHS rule 6-1-2(b) says the ball was live on the throw-in when it was at the disposal of the player. By rule 6-7-1, the ball remained live until the 3-pointer was made. Unfortunately we have no rules backing to take away that made 3-pointer. It might not be fair bit it it is correct, by rule. The officials just have to live with their screw-up. |
|
|||
FWIW, I don't necessarily agree. In this play, the official administers the throw-in to the thrower for the wrong team. In the case play, the wrong team takes the ball after the made basket and inbounds it. Finally, the case play says, "This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball."
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT 10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with a technical foul; (b) cancel the field goal; (c) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any nonflagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (d) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no technical foul would be charged. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. JR, That was why I asked my original question. This OP was different because the reff "made" the ball live by handing the ball to the player. And we know once the throwin is complete, its not changeable. In the comment section of the case play the, "If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion" I took this to mean that the "confusion" can also be with the reff versus the players. In the OP the players and coach intentionally "confuse" the reff, couldn't one use this to say that this is not covered by rule and thus wipe the made 3 away? |
|
|||
Quote:
"This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball."
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
This case play fits the situation:
THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE 7.5.2 SITUATION B: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Jan 10, 2011 at 12:54pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Unsporting "T"s are usually a judgment call......and judgment varies from official to official.
|
|
|||
Wonder what would have happened if Resumption of Play procedure had been used? Could a T have been issued when V coach said it was too late for the DOG violation/technical for reaching through the plane and touching the ball? Just playing Agitator's Advocate here.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
The point at which I think about whether the situation should or should not be a T will be the point the ball became dead, not when I finally put air in the whistle.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Jan 10, 2011 at 06:15pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you haven't decided to call the "T" or had not blown your whistle before the ball left the shooter's hands on the 3-point attempt, you have no rules justication that I know of to then cancel the 3-point basket if it goes. The ball is live until the try is made or missed. |
|
|||
Quote:
SECTION 7 DEAD BALL. The whistle only makes the ball dead when it is not preceded by something that already made it dead. The point of the infraction is what matters, not when the official decides to blow the whistle or actually blows the whistle.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree that the official can decide to call an unsporting foul on this play. That is always a judgment call. But the ball is still live after the throw-in until the official decides to call that technical foul. And additionally, if the ball is in the air on a 3-point try when the official decides to call the unsporting "T", then the technical foul call does not make the ball dead by rule. We can't retroactively declare the ball dead. We have to follow the rules. That was my point. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Possesion arrow indicators for whistles | Love2ref4Ever | Basketball | 67 | Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:41am |
possesion arrow | refbater | Basketball | 6 | Thu Dec 11, 2008 02:54pm |
possesion arrow | bball4ever | Basketball | 8 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:00pm |
Technicals at Halftime - What happens to the possesion arrow? | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 6 | Sat Mar 05, 2005 01:29pm |
Alternate Possesion Arrow | ngilref | Basketball | 2 | Mon Nov 26, 2001 10:46pm |