Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I've never called a foul during action without a whistle, so you'll have to enlighten me.
|
Just yell for them to stop or something. The point is that sounding the whistle is not required by rule in order to call a foul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Yeah, he said it was dead on the whistle, which I take (knowing how well he knows the rules) as a mis-speak rather than an error in rules knowledge.
|
Yes, that makes sense. But it was not a single incident. It is possible to have something come out wrong in a post. But when it is happening multiple times then it is more of a rules knowledge problem than a rules explaining problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If you haven't decided to call the "T" or had not blown your whistle before the ball left the shooter's hands on the 3-point attempt, you have no rules justication that I know of to then cancel the 3-point basket if it goes. The ball is live until the try is made or missed.
|
When an official decides to call a foul or sounds the whistle has no bearing on when the ball becomes dead. The ball becomes dead when the foul occurs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
Cobra is saying that he can go back and call a foul from the start of the first half if he realizes it was a foul with 5 seconds left in the game. If so all subsequent action happened during a dead ball since the foul made the ball dead. No one agrees with him.
|
All I have said is that there is time limit under the rules for calling fouls and violations. Other people agree with this. Other people disagree but have not provided a rules citation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
JR is saying that if the ball is erroneously inbounded then it has become live. Only Cobra disagrees on this point.
|
The ball would become live when it is at the disposal of the thrower, not when inbounded. But if there a foul before it is at his disposal then the ball would remain dead.
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
He further envisions that in some early numbered post this is what was happening here. JR disagrees that the early numbered post describes that situation.
|
Cameron came up with his own situation which involved a technical foul being called on the thrower.
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
JR is saying that if the three is shot and then the official decides to call a technical that the ball was not dead when shot and the three counts. It's not clear to me if Camron agrees or not.
|
Cameron does not agree with that. The ball becomes or remains dead when the foul occurs. The fact that it took the official a couple of seconds to call it does not change anything.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
2) There's no precise time limit set between a foul or violation occuring and the whistle for that foul or violation but there is common sense plus an understanding of what is usually expected from us as officials. A patient whistle is good sometimes..... not all the time..... but if you see a foul or violation occur and you don't blow your whistle for that foul or violation within about 2 or 3 seconds max, you might as well let it go because the play is now usually long gone. Hell, the play might be half the court away in that 2 or 3 seconds. And if you want to wait for...gasp...more than 5 seconds to blow your whistle after a foul or violation occured, well, all I can say is good luck to in your new job as one of chseagle's assistants. There's real life out there. And that is why I can't really take any of Cobra's arguments seriously.
|
I never said that officials should be going back and calling fouls which occurred earlier. All I said is that there are no rules against doing so.