The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Hmmmm sounds like coach shouldve followed CE procedures & got a t/o.

Was there 7 team fouls on the board? You'd think 1 of the 3 officials would check the clock following a whistle...
Personally, I like the crew to be aware at 6.

CE time frames & rules have always confused me, so I choose not to have them in my games (lol) but lets say it got fixed within the limit, would we shoot the 1 & 1 w/the lane cleared then administer the FTs for the shooting foul w/players lined up?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 10:11am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
...CE time frames & rules have always confused me, so I choose not to have them in my games (lol) but lets say it got fixed within the limit, would we shoot the 1 & 1 w/the lane cleared then administer the FTs for the shooting foul w/players lined up?
Unfortunately, yes.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 11:01am
Certified Non-Fanboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In the state where the Christmas trees grow
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Was there 7 team fouls on the board? You'd think 1 of the 3 officials would check the clock following a whistle...
No, the scoreboard actually jumped from 6 fouls listed to 8. This also drew attention to the error, although after the fact. What might have drawn attention was the fact the scoreboard stayed on "6" for two fouls in a row, but the two fouls occurred within probably 30 seconds (real time, not clock time) of each other and it was bang-bang.

I don't think anything was fishy, btw. From watching it play out, and this is just my opinion, the R was trying to calculate in his head if the error was still correctible because I doubt it's something he deals with every day. While he was doing that, the ball became live. I thought he made a legit effort to look at correcting it, but then realized the correctible time period had lapsed. That was the reason I asked, so I don't make a similar mistake in the future. It's also why I'm not criticizing, these guys are working varsity games and I'm not. They've been at it alot longer and maybe I missed something.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maineac View Post
No, the scoreboard actually jumped from 6 fouls listed to 8. This also drew attention to the error, although after the fact. What might have drawn attention was the fact the scoreboard stayed on "6" for two fouls in a row, but the two fouls occurred within probably 30 seconds (real time, not clock time) of each other and it was bang-bang.
I still say...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
You'd think 1 of the 3 officials would check the clock following a whistle...
Personally, I like the crew to be aware at 6.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maineac View Post
I don't think anything was fishy, btw. From watching it play out, and this is just my opinion, the R was trying to calculate in his head if the error was still correctible because I doubt it's something he deals with every day. While he was doing that, the ball became live. I thought he made a legit effort to look at correcting it, but then realized the correctible time period had lapsed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Hmmmm sounds like coach shouldve followed CE procedures & got a t/o.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 11:33am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Hmmmm sounds like coach shouldve followed CE procedures & got a t/o.
Hmmm...sounds like the Coach did exactly what a Coach should do and brought the discrepancy to the attention of the nearest official. From that point on, it's all on the official for not taking care of business.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Hmmm...sounds like the Coach did exactly what a Coach should do and brought the discrepancy to the attention of the nearest official. From that point on, it's all on the official for not taking care of business.
I guess they can do it that way, but the good coaches know:

10-5 ART. 1

The head coach shall remain seated on the team bench, except:

c. The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the scorer's table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4.


5-8 ART. 4

Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:

Responds to the scorer's signal to grant a coach's request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer's table where a coach of each team may be present.

But whatever, IJS
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I guess they can do it that way, but the good coaches know:

10-5 ART. 1

The head coach shall remain seated on the team bench, except:

c. The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the scorer's table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4.


5-8 ART. 4

Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:

Responds to the scorer's signal to grant a coach's request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer's table where a coach of each team may be present.

But whatever, IJS
In the case where a coach calls a timeout to correct a correctable error and then we as officials correct it we don't charge the coach a timeout. Is that correct or have I been watching too many NFL games with the challenge flag?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Correct
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
In the case where a coach calls a timeout to correct a correctable error and then we as officials correct it we don't charge the coach a timeout. Is that correct or have I been watching too many NFL games with the challenge flag?
That is correct. Have a look at 5-11-3, Exception b.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Menifee,CA
Posts: 860
This is exactly why in my games I will tell whoever reports the 6'th foul "Bonus on the next _______." When the 7'th foul is indicated I then put my two forefingers next to each other and spread them apart before recording the foul.In a particularly intense game I may say "One and One ________."This one is about 95% table and 5% officials!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
No wonder those SoCal officials arrive so quickly

Seriously though, that is great stuff... I cherish the games when I have a competent table crew to assist us!
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 05:06pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper View Post
This is exactly why in my games I will tell whoever reports the 6'th foul "Bonus on the next _______." When the 7'th foul is indicated I then put my two forefingers next to each other and spread them apart before recording the foul.In a particularly intense game I may say "One and One ________."This one is about 95% table and 5% officials!

It's why I pay attention to the scoreboard every time we report a foul. There are many occasions where I have had the timer correct the foul count on the scoreboard. And I hate it when the timer posts the team foul on the scoreboard before we report the foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 12:06pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I guess they can do it that way, but the good coaches know:

10-5 ART. 1

The head coach shall remain seated on the team bench, except:

c. The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the scorer's table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4.


5-8 ART. 4

Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:

Responds to the scorer's signal to grant a coach's request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer's table where a coach of each team may be present.

But whatever, IJS
You can roll your eyes all you want to, but the fact remains that the procedures you pasted from the rule book are designed for a time when the ball is live and in play. That is when the coach may rise and go to the table and at the next dead ball the timer will sound the horn.

In the OP, the ball was not live, the Coach spoke to the official, and the official did not take care of business. He should have held up the free throws, brought both coaches together and handled the CE situation. Trying to pass this off as the Coach not handling it right is quite pathetic.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
True... not trying to blame the coach, but when the official said he'd take a look at it, I would've called a t/o before the FTs were shot.
Coach knew the CE rule but probably didnt know the time frames.

The blame goes to the table & officials, IMO the coach didnt handle it correctly either.

Bottom line is, we as officials have got to manage that clock & be cognizant of the score, time, fouls, etc.

Its not that hard to do:
1. whistle
2. sneak a peak
3. handle problems before the ball becomes live

No CEs.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2011, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
True... not trying to blame the coach, but when the official said he'd take a look at it, I would've called a t/o before the FTs were shot.
Coach knew the CE rule but probably didnt know the time frames.

The blame goes to the table & officials, IMO the coach didnt handle it correctly either.
Agreed.

I assign the blame as:

Table 30%
Officials 65%
Coach 5%
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctible Error bseybs32 Basketball 21 Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:39am
correctible done right? deecee Basketball 12 Wed Dec 13, 2006 03:03pm
Correctible error? Art N Basketball 12 Mon Feb 12, 2001 11:26am
Correctible Error? TexasRef Basketball 24 Tue Nov 21, 2000 03:12pm
Correctible error? Thom Basketball 3 Fri Dec 31, 1999 03:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1