The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 149
A1 is fouled by B1. Team A inbounds the ball and they score a bucket. The horn sounds from the table to tell us that A1 should have shot a 1 on 1. What is the call if:
a) B has does not yet have ball at their disposal (ref has not started 5 sec. count)
b) B has ball at disposal
c) B has inbounded
d) B as called a timeout.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 12:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
All of these fall under 2-10-2 such errors must be recognized during the first deadball after the clock
has started.

A. Still correctable

B. No longer correctable

C. No longer correctable

D. if prior to ball at disposal, correctable until
official places the ball at the disposal after the TO
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 44
a) Correctable
b) Correctable
c) Not Correctable
d) Correctable
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by PAULK1
All of these fall under 2-10-2 such errors must be recognized during the first deadball after the clock
has started.

A. Still correctable

B. No longer correctable

C. No longer correctable

D. if prior to ball at disposal, correctable until
official places the ball at the disposal after the TO
Paul is correct. In C., the ball became live when it was at B's disposal, so it's too late to correct. The same would apply to D.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 44
The clock still isn't running.

Matthew
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,182
Quote:
Originally posted by OPTIPLEX2001
The clock still isn't running.

Matthew
What clock isn't running? THe clock started when A inbounded (incorrectly, as it turns out) the ball. It keeps running after the made basket. The error can be corrected until the ball becomes live again -- that happens when B has the ball at its disposal for the throw in.

Unless, of course, choosing different rules is part of your responsibility as "game management"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by OPTIPLEX2001
The clock still isn't running.

Matthew
It doesn't matter whether the clock is running or not. There are plenty of times when the ball is live but the clock isn't running. The ball becomes live and it's too late to correct the error when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower.

2-10-2
In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

Once the ball is at B's disposal, the first dead ball is over, and it's too late to correct.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 44
Quote:
Unless, of course, choosing different rules is part of your responsibility as "game management
Bite me.

Quote:
It doesn't matter whether the clock is running or not. There are plenty of times when the ball is live but the clock isn't running. The ball becomes live and it's too late to correct the error when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower.
Then every referee we've had at our home games broke the rule then. There are times when the bookkeeper doesn't realize that it's one-and-one yet. I will still continue to blow the horn and let the official know, unless the ball has been inbounded.

Matthew

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 44
Wait a second, I read the post wrong. I undestood that the referee had just handed the team player the ball, and it hadn't been inbounded. It was no longer correctable.

BTW, my post to bob still stands.

Matthew
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2001, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by OPTIPLEX2001
BTW, my post to bob still stands.

Matthew
Remarks like that could get you kicked off this board. Is that really what you want, to get booted off for making a vulgar, immature remark? If you're going to post and discuss basketball officiating with adults, then try to act like an adult.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2001, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to mcdanrd Send a message via AIM to mcdanrd Send a message via Yahoo to mcdanrd
OK, in scenario A and possibly scenario D it is correctable. What is the correction? Wipe out A's basket and give them a 1-1? or allow the basket and give them the 1-1?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2001, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,182
Quote:
Originally posted by mcdanrd
OK, in scenario A and possibly scenario D it is correctable. What is the correction? Wipe out A's basket and give them a 1-1? or allow the basket and give them the 1-1?
Allow the basket, give them the 1-1 with no one on the lane, give the ball to B for a throw-in with the run of the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2001, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by mcdanrd
OK, in scenario A and possibly scenario D it is correctable. What is the correction? Wipe out A's basket and give them a 1-1? or allow the basket and give them the 1-1?
Never take points off the board that occurred after an error was made.

2-10-5
Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1