The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If Team A is in the bonus, A1 shoots a one and one. If Team A is in the double bonus, A1 shoots two free throws.
5.2.5 SITUATION C: With three-tenths of a second or less left in a tied game, each team is in the bonus. Team A has a throw-in on the end line near their basket. A1 throws the ball to A5 on the near block who catches the ball and quickly shoots. A5 is fouled by B3 just prior to the period ending horn. The ball goes through A's basket. RULING: Since A5 may not control the ball and attempt a try with three-tenths of a second or less, A5 cannot score a goal and is not considered in the act of shooting. However, B3's foul cannot be ignored and is considered a common foul. A5 is awarded a one-and-one bonus free-throw situation with the lane cleared. A5's free throw attempts will determine if the game is over or if an overtime period is necessary. (4-41-6)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:14am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Twist And Shout ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
5.2.5 SITUATION C: With three-tenths of a second or less left in a tied game, each team is in the bonus. Team A has a throw-in on the end line near their basket. A1 throws the ball to A5 on the near block who catches the ball and quickly shoots. A5 is fouled by B3 just prior to the period ending horn. The ball goes through A's basket. RULING: Since A5 may not control the ball and attempt a try with three-tenths of a second or less, A5 cannot score a goal and is not considered in the act of shooting. However, B3's foul cannot be ignored and is considered a common foul. A5 is awarded a one-and-one bonus free-throw situation with the lane cleared. A5's free throw attempts will determine if the game is over or if an overtime period is necessary. (4-41-6)
New twist. What if we add this to 5.2.5 SITUATION C: The ball doesn't go through A's basket, but instead B4 commits basket interference?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:15am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
I don't know how much clearer you can get than 5-2-5...
If it hadn't been for the case play, which states "A5 cannot score a goal and is not considered in the act of shooting," I would maintain my opinion. Nothing in the rule itself says he can't be in the act of shooting, only that he can't score. "May not ...try for a goal" is up to interpretation. However, the case play makes it pretty clear.

So, apparently, it can get a lot clearer than 5-2-5. In fact, it does in 5.2.5C.

Edit: This is a long winded way of saying, "I was wrong."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Mon Jan 03, 2011 at 03:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If it hadn't been for the case play, which states "A5 cannot score a goal and is not considered in the act of shooting," I would maintain my opinion. Nothing in the rule itself says he can't be in the act of shooting, only that he can't score. "May not ...try for a goal" is up to interpretation. However, the case play makes it pretty clear.

So, apparently, it can get a lot clearer than 5-2-5. In fact, it does in 5.2.5C.
Snaq, the rule says, "...a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal. "

He can't try for goal equals he can't shoot.

If he can't shoot, he can't be in the act of shooting.

Seems pretty clear to me.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Jan 03, 2011 at 01:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:16am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
New twist. What if we add this to 5.2.5 SITUATION C: The ball doesn't go through A's basket, but instead B4 commits basket interference?
The ball would be dead prior to the BI, so it wouldn't affect anything.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
New twist. What if we add this to 5.2.5 SITUATION C: The ball doesn't go through A's basket, but instead B4 commits basket interference?
I would say that the ball was dead at the common foul, so, no BI.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
I would say that the ball was dead at the common foul, so, no BI.
I read BM's case as suggesting a violation instead of a foul.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
New twist. What if we add this to 5.2.5 SITUATION C: The ball doesn't go through A's basket, but instead B4 commits basket interference?
I'm not going to say this is impossible, but it's so highly improbable that we can safely ignore it. The ball becomes dead at the horn, since the throw toward the basket is not a try. Since there's only 0.3 on the clock, whatever B4 does is almost certainly done after the ball is dead.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 02:42pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
.3 seconds left. A1 catches the lob throw-in and is immediately fouled.

Do I ignore the foul unless I determine it to be flagrant or intentional? Is the ball dead as soon as it's deemed that A1 caught the ball instead of tapping it?
This is the original post. We observe but do not pretend we are Kreskin. Any answers to the OP must address that the ball was CAUGHT. Arguments about tapping, etc. are not germane to the original post. A thread that had A1 tapping instead of catching is an entirely different topic.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
foul question? roadking Basketball 5 Tue Feb 03, 2009 02:20pm
Question about foul during try drmarcus Basketball 5 Fri Jan 23, 2009 03:39pm
6th Foul, Then Technical Foul Question NewUmpinCT Basketball 14 Thu Jan 15, 2009 02:50am
Foul question rngrck Basketball 4 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:27pm
5th Foul Question rockyroad Basketball 24 Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1