The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 02, 2011, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
.3 Foul Question

.3 seconds left. A1 catches the lob throw-in and is immediately fouled.

Do I ignore the foul unless I determine it to be flagrant or intentional? Is the ball dead as soon as it's deemed that A1 caught the ball instead of tapping it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 02, 2011, 10:55pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
No rule makes the ball dead here. Call the foul as you would any other time until the horn blows to make the ball dead.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 02, 2011, 10:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If the foul happens after he releases a shot (assuming he caught it first), it's a dead ball contact situation (ignore or go with a T or flagrant).
The rule says they can't catch or shoot, it doesn't say they can't catch and be fouled trying to shoot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 02, 2011, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Exactly. A1, seeing and anticipating the imminent contact, may have grabbed the ball instead of tapping it as a result. B shouldn't be able to foul to prevent A1 from tapping the ball.

The ball doesn't become dead until 0.3 seconds after A1 touches/grabs the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 07:26am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Here's The Catch ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
.3 seconds left. A1 catches the lob throw-in and is immediately fouled.
If Team A is in the bonus, A1 shoots a one and one. If Team A is in the double bonus, A1 shoots two free throws.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 08:22am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If Team A is in the bonus, A1 shoots a one and one. If Team A is in the double bonus, A1 shoots two free throws.
Disagree. Nothing says A1 can't start the shooting motion in that amount of time.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Disagree. Nothing says A1 can't start the shooting motion in that amount of time.
Not the way I am reading 5.2.5 C
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
NCAA is different. Ignore the contact unless I or F.

AR 132
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 09:11am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Disagree. Nothing says A1 can't start the shooting motion in that amount of time.
If he catches it, he cannot shoot it and have the goal count. So, if he is fouled, he cannot be considered to be fouled in the act of shooting. And the OP said 'catch'.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Disagree. Nothing says A1 can't start the shooting motion in that amount of time.
I don't know how much clearer you can get than 5-2-5...

When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and threetenths (.3) of a second or less remains on the clock, a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal. In this situation only a tap could score.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post

I don't know how much clearer you can get than 5-2-5...

When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and threetenths (.3) of a second or less remains on the clock, a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal. In this situation only a tap could score.
Piling on?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Disagree. Nothing says A1 can't start the shooting motion in that amount of time.
Agree IF the shooting motion is a tap. The player can be fouled in the act of tapping and be awarded 2 shots.

All doubters see NFHS rules 4-41-1,5&6 and case book play 5.2.5SitB
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 11:57am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Agree IF the shooting motion is a tap. The player can be fouled in the act of tapping and be awarded 2 shots.

All doubters see NFHS rules 4-41-1,5&6 and case book play 5.2.5SitB
Question referred specifically to a player catching the ball. Tap was not an option.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Question referred specifically to a player catching the ball. Tap was not an option.
Someone might judge that the player was trying to tap the ball when fouled but grabbed it as a result of getting fouled. Hmmm.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 03, 2011, 02:19pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Question referred specifically to a player catching the ball. Tap was not an option.
That's got nuthin' to do with Snaq's statement. Snaq said "Nothing says A can't start the shooting motion in that amount of time.". That statement is true IF the shooting motion is a tap. It isn't true if the shooting motion is a try.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
foul question? roadking Basketball 5 Tue Feb 03, 2009 02:20pm
Question about foul during try drmarcus Basketball 5 Fri Jan 23, 2009 03:39pm
6th Foul, Then Technical Foul Question NewUmpinCT Basketball 14 Thu Jan 15, 2009 02:50am
Foul question rngrck Basketball 4 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:27pm
5th Foul Question rockyroad Basketball 24 Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1