The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
I wasn't there. We discussed the play tonight at a training session. The official who called it said it wasn't worth ejecting the player. I rationalized that intentional=live ball action and you can't have an intentional foul during a dead ball. I thought you could only have a T or flagrant T during a dead ball. Then we got on the topic of this intentional technical and no one seemed to have a definitive answer.
Yes can be Intentional or Flagrant for contact
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
TECHNICAL FOUL
4.19.5 SITUATION: A1 is fouled by B1. A1 subsequently pushes B1. RULING: If
a foul is called on A1, it must be either an intentional or flagrant technical. If it is
ruled flagrant, A1 must be disqualified. If A1’s contact during a dead ball was neither
intentional nor flagrant, it should have been ignored. (4-19-1 Note; 10-3-8)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
TECHNICAL FOUL
4.19.5 SITUATION: A1 is fouled by B1. A1 subsequently pushes B1. RULING: If
a foul is called on A1, it must be either an intentional or flagrant technical. If it is
ruled flagrant, A1 must be disqualified. If A1’s contact during a dead ball was neither
intentional nor flagrant, it should have been ignored. (4-19-1 Note; 10-3-8)
So for the purposes of how it's penalized, a technical is a technical, regardless of whether or not it's an intentional technical. Two shots by any player of the offending team or a substitute and the ball at the division line. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
So for the purposes of how it's penalized, a technical is a technical, regardless of whether or not it's an intentional technical. Two shots by any player of the offending team or a substitute and the ball at the division line. Correct?
Actually, at the NFHS level the offended team may have two different players attempt the FTs for any technical foul, but otherwise you are correct.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Dead Ball Contact Foul All_Heart Basketball 3 Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:28pm
NFHS dead ball shipwreck Softball 3 Mon Aug 28, 2006 08:24am
Dead Ball , Incidental Contact ? Chess Ref Basketball 15 Thu Dec 22, 2005 05:29am
Dead Ball contact missinglink Basketball 8 Wed Feb 18, 2004 11:33am
Dead Ball Award (NFHS) collinb Baseball 3 Wed Jul 16, 2003 04:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1