View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 08:52am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
I rationalized that intentional=live ball action and you can't have an intentional foul during a dead ball. I thought you could only have a T or flagrant T during a dead ball.
Your rationalization is wrong.

All fouls are either Personal (generally, live ball contact) or Technical (generally, dead-ball contact or non-contact).

The foul *might* have an adjective on the front -- common, Intentional , Flagrant, ...

Dead ball contact is ignored if it's not Intentional or Flagrant. So, there's no "common" Technical for contact.

Your play had dead ball contact that couldn't be ignored. So, it was a T. The calling official judged it to be non-flagrant. The only choice left is an Intentional Technical foul.

(and, in all of the above, I'm ignoring dead ball contact on or by an airborne shooter)
Reply With Quote