The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 16, 2003, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 44
Federation Rules show a DEAD BALL DELAYED DEAD BALL TABLE.
Activity #15 states "A thrown ball, not by a pitcher from the plate,goes into the bench, stands, through or over fence . Award all runners one base. 8-3-3d"
Does this mean that if the pitcher steps back off the pitching plate before his attempt to pick off the runner, and the ball goes out of play the award would be two bases?
Once the pitcher steps back off the pitching plate he becomes a infielder with all the rights to feint or throw to any base. If this is true then the award of a thrown ball out of bounds should be the same as it is for all the other infielders. (award two bases).
__________________
Collin B
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 16, 2003, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,240
Quote:
Originally posted by collinb
Federation Rules show a DEAD BALL DELAYED DEAD BALL TABLE.
Activity #15 states "A thrown ball, not by a pitcher from the plate,goes into the bench, stands, through or over fence . Award all runners one base. 8-3-3d"
Does this mean that if the pitcher steps back off the pitching plate before his attempt to pick off the runner, and the ball goes out of play the award would be two bases?
Once the pitcher steps back off the pitching plate he becomes a infielder with all the rights to feint or throw to any base. If this is true then the award of a thrown ball out of bounds should be the same as it is for all the other infielders. (award two bases).
The award for #15 is "Award all runners two bases ... 8-3-3c;8-3-4"

The award you quoted is the award for #16 -- Pitch goes out of play.

And, to be clear, both of these are in the "Immediate Dead Ball" section of the table.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 16, 2003, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I don't have the book with me, but doesn't it say to award all runners two bases?

Yes, if the pitcher steps back off the rubber and throws the ball away, the award is two bases.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 16, 2003, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 44
Thanks Bob,
I did mean #16
__________________
Collin B
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1