The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
In NFHS, there is no team control in those situations. So, technically, there is no offense until a throw-in is completed. Thus, there would be shots if the inbounding team fouled prior to the throw-in being completed if the other team was in the bonus.
Gap? Does the action that defines the end of the throw-in always result in team/player control being established? (Asking rhetorically)
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city

Last edited by justacoach; Tue Nov 30, 2010 at 08:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 08:32am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Gap? Does the action that defines the end of the throw-in always result in team/player control being established? (Asking rhetorically)
If it is legally completed, it does. A violation called before it is legally completed, a foul called before it is legally completed, and a held ball would be the only things that would not end in team control upon completion.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 08:36am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Gap? Does the action that defines the end of the throw-in always result in team/player control being established? (Asking rhetorically)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
If it is legally completed, it does. A violation called before it is legally completed, a foul called before it is legally completed, and a held ball would be the only things that would not end in team control upon completion.
Maybe I'm reading his question differently, but I don't think that's right. A legal tip by either team would end the throw-in, but would not establish team control.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
If it is legally completed, it does. A violation called before it is legally completed, a foul called before it is legally completed, and a held ball would be the only things that would not end in team control upon completion.
Not true.

A2 (or B2) touching the ball ends the throw-in, but if that touch isn't also a catch, then PC (and thus TC) haven't been established.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ft's boss21 Basketball 3 Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:22pm
Changing the bonus from shooting to an option Texas Aggie Basketball 31 Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:37am
NO FT's !! Forksref Basketball 0 Wed Jan 18, 2006 02:14pm
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? brightstripes54 Basketball 10 Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm
Olympic FT's ChrisSportsFan Basketball 10 Sun Aug 29, 2004 11:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1