That is correct. If the foul is committed by the player in control of the ball (a player-control foul) or by a player of the team in control of the ball (a team-control foul), we do not shoot free throws.
"The ball is awarded out of bounds after:...A player-control or team-control foul, as in 7-5-4a" (NFHS 7-4-5)
It's also important to note that, like mbyron said, during rebounding action there is no team control. So a foul by any member of the "shooting team" could result in free throws. Under NFHS rules the same is true during a throw-in, a foul by any member of the throwing team could result in free throws.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
|