The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
I was just being an agitator. My guess is that he just saw someone drive by in a pyrite-colored Scion and he got distracted.
Squirrel!
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 04:25pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Team control BEGINS when a player holds or dribbles a live ball inbounds, or secures a jump ball with at least one foot on the floor.
Huh?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 08:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Just What Do You Mean By Offensive ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Remember that there are no offensive fouls in the NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules codes.
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: There aren't? I've seen many in my thirty years. I'm sure that you've seen your share in the past 130 years.

Offensive (adjective) Disagreeable to the senses, Causing anger, displeasure, resentment, or affront.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
In NFHS, there is no team control in those situations. So, technically, there is no offense until a throw-in is completed. Thus, there would be shots if the inbounding team fouled prior to the throw-in being completed if the other team was in the bonus.
Gap? Does the action that defines the end of the throw-in always result in team/player control being established? (Asking rhetorically)
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city

Last edited by justacoach; Tue Nov 30, 2010 at 08:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Team control BEGINS when a player holds or dribbles a live ball inbounds, or secures a jump ball with at least one foot on the floor.
Bainsey:Would you kindly supply a rules reference that includes this phrase?
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 09:58pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
I'll try reporting all my fouls that way in my game today.

"Red, A1, push." or "White, A1, block."

Should make for an interesting evening.

BITS:

You are turning into Mark (Padgett) and reMark (me), .

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 10:00pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Bainsey:Would you kindly supply a rules reference that includes this phrase?
Thanks for the heads up. I'll misread 4-12-1. Now, I seek clarity.

This passage says, "There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor..."

If a jumper catches a jump ball, it's a violation (6-3-7c). Why would team/player control even be covered on a violation, when the ball becomes dead?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Thanks for the heads up. I'll misread 4-12-1. Now, I seek clarity.

This passage says, "There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor..."

If a jumper catches a jump ball, it's a violation (6-3-7c). Why would team/player control even be covered on a violation, when the ball becomes dead?
A/P purposes?
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 11:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
I think that was what he was implying, he was just uncharacteristically terse. He must've been in a hurry to get lunch.

BTW, there is no definition of "offense", and more particularly no rule that tells us who is on offense and when. That is what makes the term "offensive foul" so meaningless in an NFHS or NCAA rules context. Based purely on my understanding of the "general usage" of the word, I would say that the throwing team during a throw-in is "on offense." But, obviously, they do not have team control.
You're right. It was more of a working lunch with the boss.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
I was just being an agitator. My guess is that he just saw someone drive by in a pyrite-colored Scion and he got distracted.
It's an ugly car, I'm just sayin'.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 11:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Thanks for the heads up. I'll misread 4-12-1. Now, I seek clarity.

This passage says, "There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor..."

If a jumper catches a jump ball, it's a violation (6-3-7c). Why would team/player control even be covered on a violation, when the ball becomes dead?
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
A/P purposes?
That's exactly right. The verbIage was added recently to clarify that this violation does not constitute player control. I believe it was actually a reversal of the old ruling, under which this violation by A1 would give B the ball and the arrow.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 08:32am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Gap? Does the action that defines the end of the throw-in always result in team/player control being established? (Asking rhetorically)
If it is legally completed, it does. A violation called before it is legally completed, a foul called before it is legally completed, and a held ball would be the only things that would not end in team control upon completion.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 08:36am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Gap? Does the action that defines the end of the throw-in always result in team/player control being established? (Asking rhetorically)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
If it is legally completed, it does. A violation called before it is legally completed, a foul called before it is legally completed, and a held ball would be the only things that would not end in team control upon completion.
Maybe I'm reading his question differently, but I don't think that's right. A legal tip by either team would end the throw-in, but would not establish team control.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
If it is legally completed, it does. A violation called before it is legally completed, a foul called before it is legally completed, and a held ball would be the only things that would not end in team control upon completion.
Not true.

A2 (or B2) touching the ball ends the throw-in, but if that touch isn't also a catch, then PC (and thus TC) haven't been established.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ft's boss21 Basketball 3 Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:22pm
Changing the bonus from shooting to an option Texas Aggie Basketball 31 Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:37am
NO FT's !! Forksref Basketball 0 Wed Jan 18, 2006 02:14pm
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? brightstripes54 Basketball 10 Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm
Olympic FT's ChrisSportsFan Basketball 10 Sun Aug 29, 2004 11:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1