![]() |
|
|
|||
I am still looking for the section where in a situation like this (Intentional Foul) that the play is resumed at the POI.
NCAA Rulebook (Pg 125) Rule 10 Penalty e.2. Two free throws for: An intentional or flagrant personal foul and the ball awarded to a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. NCAA Rulebook (Pg 152) Foul Name: Intentional Foul. Resumption of Play: Throw-in to the offended team at the designated spot. Is there a casebook play or someplace in the rulebook that says that the stated play is a POI? Thanks. |
|
|||
Quote:
Check your rulebook and AR's under the Use of Monitor sections... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
This is NOT a POI issue. It is an issue of penalizing infractions in the order of occurance. The possession part of a foul is null and void if there is a subsequent foul committed before that possession is granted.
Consider the case of one technical foul on team A followed by the another technical foul on team B. Does B ever get possession for team A's T? No. You shoot one T. Then the other T. Then A get's possession as part of the final foul in the sequence.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Sorry, Camron, but my example does NOT contain a 2nd foul. There was no foul whistled on the play at all. Action was stopped after a made goal to get attention for an injured player. So your explanation cannot apply.
It has to be either POI or enforce the possession part of the intentional personal foul. My point was that while we haven't seen a clear approved ruling stating to resume at the POI, we now have two D1 crews going to the POI. I have faith that they have specific instruction on this which we aren't privy to and are getting it right. |
|
|||
Quote:
A1 with the ball elbows B1 in the face but nothing is called. A1 looses the ball as a result and it deflects off of B1 before going OOB. The covering official indicates that it is A's ball. The officials go to the monitor to review the play and tag A1 with an intentional foul. Will it go to the POI on this one?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Stanford-Washington | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 6 | Mon May 11, 2009 12:29pm |
Washington v. USC | slow whistle | Basketball | 24 | Sun Jan 25, 2009 06:24pm |
BYU - Washington | BktBallRef | Football | 81 | Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:16am |
Washington/UAB Clock - What did you have? | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 17 | Sat Mar 20, 2004 10:57pm |
End of 1st Half BI -- Washington/UAB | rainmaker | Basketball | 5 | Sat Mar 20, 2004 12:08pm |