
Mon Nov 29, 2010, 10:03am
|
Courageous When Prudent
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
UNLV/Va Tech game today from tournament in Anaheim, CA.
Va Tech has the ball in their frontcourt. On the wing away from the ball a UNLV player raises his arms and catches the opponent in the face with an elbow. There is no whistle on the play. The Va Tech player goes down and remains down.
Va Tech proceeds to attack the goal from the opposite side and scores. The game is stopped, the Va Tech is attended to, and the officials go to the monitor.
They decide that the UNLV player was guilty of an intentional personal foul. 2FTs were awarded to the fouled Va Tech player who was allowed to remain in the game due to the decision to charge an intentional foul, and the game was resumed at the POI, which was the UNLV endline throw-in following the made goal by Va Tech.
So we now have two examples of crews going to the monitor for an intentional personal foul for an elbow above the shoulders which wasn't whistled during live action and resuming at the POI.
|
Which is the proper procedure:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Hyland
B. Rule 2-13.6. This rule should be utilized when the official fails to observe any of the contact fouls noted above or a fight. Utilize the monitor as follows:
The official may go to the monitor to determine if a contact flagrant foul occurred and
to enforce the flagrant foul penalty accordingly. The official may also penalize the contact by enforcing an intentional foul or a contact dead ball technical if the severity of the foul does not warrant a flagrant foul. The official may not call a common foul or any other infraction under these circumstances.
|
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
|