The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
No idea for NCAA.

For NFHS, the ball is dead after the GT, no matter when they blow the whistle. So 10-3-4b cannot apply, and no T should be assessed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
B44's smack of the backboard is not a technical foul as there is no try in flight (10-3-4b).
The comment under 10.3.4 says, a player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to rule 10-3-6.

Thoughts?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!

Last edited by tref; Tue Nov 23, 2010 at 01:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
The comment under 10.3.4 says, a player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to rule 10-3-6.

Thoughts?
For the most part, I think a backboard slap being penalized under 10-3-6 is going to happen outside the course of play.

I would give the benefit of the doubt to the slapper if the ball is in the backboard area before I called an unsporting T.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
For the most part, I think a backboard slap being penalized under 10-3-6 is going to happen outside the course of play.

I would give the benefit of the doubt to the slapper if the ball is in the backboard area before I called an unsporting T.
Makes sense! I just wanted to put it out there, that a try doesnt have to be involved for it to be unsporting.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Makes sense! I just wanted to put it out there, that a try doesnt have to be involved for it to be unsporting.
No, but since a try was involved in the OP, and nothing else in the OP suggests unsporting behavior, I would not assess a TF under 10-3-6 (either).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't have my FED books handy, but I don't think that's the correct parsing of the rule (iirc, it's one of those rules with multiple "or" clauses and it could be unclear to which the "while" clause applies).
It is but the other clauses aren't relevant here.

Quote:
A player shall not illegally contact the backboard/ring by:

b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
It is but the other clauses aren't relevant here.
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
It can be read that way, but then the comment from 10.3.4 doesn't make any sense as there would never be a need to use 10-3-6 for the T.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
That's the way I've always interpreted.

But I do want to know the wording for the "unsporting" act East is referring to. I still have 90 minutes before I can get to my books.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:27pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
No, but since a try was involved in the OP, and nothing else in the OP suggests unsporting behavior, I would not assess a TF under 10-3-6 (either).
What about this part of the OP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OP
...Blue 44 smacks the backboard, unrelated to the shot....
Reads to me that B44 slapped the other side of the backboard with no attempt to block a shot involved. That's a T, NCAA and Fed.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
What about this part of the OP?



Reads to me that B44 slapped the other side of the backboard with no attempt to block a shot involved. That's a T, NCAA and Fed.
Slapping the backboard is not in and of itself a T. You can in Fed slap the backboard so long as there is no try in flight and the ball is not touching the backboard or in the basket or the cylinder and the slap is not done in an unsporting manner.

There's an area between an attempted block and unsporting behavior that is allowable backboard slapping.

It's sounds like the OP was an unsporting incident though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goaltending Referee24.7 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 09, 2009 08:56am
Goaltending jc147119 Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2008 05:14pm
Goaltending or not? ofishe8r Basketball 14 Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:15pm
Goaltending? actuary77 Basketball 26 Sun Oct 29, 2006 04:25pm
goaltending Matt S. Basketball 1 Sat Jan 29, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1