The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
I'll take a crack at this from a Fed perspective.

The attempted block by B22 does not end the try (4-41-4). B35's block is goaltending (4-22). Based on the description (blocked), I assume the ball had no further possibility of entering the basket ending the try.

B44's smack of the backboard is not a technical foul as there is no try in flight (10-3-4b).

The officials should have gotten together during the dead ball and determined that the goaltending had caused the try to end and awarded the points under the principle that the violation had occurred before the foul (indeed caused the activity to no longer be a foul).

As long as there wasn't a significant delay (more than a couple of seconds) between the goaltending and the whistle, I wouldn't consider this correcting an error.

If the T is actually for unsporting behavior rather than slapping the backboard, I again think the proximity of the stoppage to the violation allows the officials to make the call after conferencing as I don't believe the time has expired to call the violation yet. (Thus it is not yet an error.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
good call on the goaltending and on the unsporting T for slapping the backboard. I'm sure there wasn't more than a second elasped when the goaltending was missed, maybe just a slow whistle!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
B44's smack of the backboard is not a technical foul as there is no try in flight (10-3-4b).
I don't have my FED books handy, but I don't think that's the correct parsing of the rule (iirc, it's one of those rules with multiple "or" clauses and it could be unclear to which the "while" clause applies).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 125
Thanks

Thanks for your input!! The crew was fortunate that the 'C' blew his whistle for the smack of the backboard!! If not, the game would have continued without a goaltending or a 'T'. IF Blue 44 did not slap the backboard, the crew would have missed the goaltend. The 'C' did not blow his whistle for goaltending, just for the smacking of the backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:30pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by iref4him View Post
Thanks for your input!! The crew was fortunate that the 'C' blew his whistle for the smack of the backboard!! If not, the game would have continued without a goaltending or a 'T'. IF Blue 44 did not slap the backboard, the crew would have missed the goaltend. The 'C' did not blow his whistle for goaltending, just for the smacking of the backboard.
As I thought...did the Blue coach make a stink about the delayed GT call?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:03pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't have my FED books handy, but I don't think that's the correct parsing of the rule (iirc, it's one of those rules with multiple "or" clauses and it could be unclear to which the "while" clause applies).
You think correctly. You can call a backboard slap at any time if you think the act was unsporting.

From POE #4 on backboard slapping from the 2008-09 FED rule book....
"The rules specify that intentionally slapping or striking the backboard is a technical. The spirit and intent of the rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to themselves or as a means of venting frustration."

Iow it's a judgment call...and the slap in the OP also has to be a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
You think correctly. You can call a backboard slap at any time if you think the act was unsporting.

From POE #4 on backboard slapping from the 2008-09 FED rule book....
"The rules specify that intentionally slapping or striking the backboard is a technical. The spirit and intent of the rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to themselves or as a means of venting frustration."

Iow it's a judgment call...and the slap in the OP also has to be a judgment call.
While that is true, you aren't calling the T based on rule 10-3-4 as it doesn't deal with unsporting acts, you're calling it based on 10-3-6.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
B44's smack of the backboard is not a technical foul as there is no try in flight (10-3-4b).
And I was simply commenting on Bob's response to the above statement. Whether the try was in flight or not doesn't mean that a "T" still couldn't have been called against B44.... as Tref also correctly pointed out to you.

You judge the act, no matter whether that act was inside or outside the course of play. That's exactly what the FED told us to do in that POE that I cited.

Maybe you didn't intend it as such, but the sentence above leaves the impression that you can't call a "T" by rule for slapping the backboard while no try is in flight. You can but it is always a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And I was simply commenting on Bob's response to the above statement. Whether the try was in flight or not doesn't mean that a "T" still couldn't have been called against B44.... as Tref also correctly pointed out to you.

You judge the act, no matter whether that act was inside or outside the course of play. That's exactly what the FED told us to do in that POE that I cited.

Maybe you didn't intend it as such, but the sentence above leaves the impression that you can't call a "T" by rule for slapping the backboard while no try is in flight. You can but it is always a judgment call.
Yeah, communication error on my part. My point was that it had to be unsporting to call the T, a "basic" slap in this situation is not a T.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:10pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
Yeah, communication error on my part. My point was that it had to be unsporting to call the T, a "basic" slap in this situation is not a T.
What do you mean by a "basic" slap as it applies to the OP?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
What do you mean by a "basic" slap as it applies to the OP?
Basic as opposed to unsporting. It wasn't immediately clear to me that the official felt the slap was itself unsporting as opposed to slaps being inherently unsporting.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:26pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
Basic as opposed to unsporting. It wasn't immediately clear to me that the official felt the slap was itself unsporting as opposed to slaps being inherently unsporting.
It was clear what the official felt in the OP:

Quote:
...Blue 44 smacks the backboard, unrelated to the shot. He said 'C' blew his whistle after Blue 44 smacked the backboard and gave him a technical foul...
Obviously he felt if wasn't a "basic" slap.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It was clear what the official felt in the OP:



Obviously he felt if wasn't a "basic" slap.
No, it's not obvious at all. There are multiple ways to receive a T for slapping the backboard. The fact that he called a T does not tell us which rule he based his decision on.

Since they had not yet called goaltending, he could have felt the try was in flight and therefore penalized a basic slap.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goaltending Referee24.7 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 09, 2009 08:56am
Goaltending jc147119 Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2008 05:14pm
Goaltending or not? ofishe8r Basketball 14 Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:15pm
Goaltending? actuary77 Basketball 26 Sun Oct 29, 2006 04:25pm
goaltending Matt S. Basketball 1 Sat Jan 29, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1