The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
What about this part of the OP?



Reads to me that B44 slapped the other side of the backboard with no attempt to block a shot involved. That's a T, NCAA and Fed.
Slapping the backboard is not in and of itself a T. You can in Fed slap the backboard so long as there is no try in flight and the ball is not touching the backboard or in the basket or the cylinder and the slap is not done in an unsporting manner.

There's an area between an attempted block and unsporting behavior that is allowable backboard slapping.

It's sounds like the OP was an unsporting incident though.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:03pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't have my FED books handy, but I don't think that's the correct parsing of the rule (iirc, it's one of those rules with multiple "or" clauses and it could be unclear to which the "while" clause applies).
You think correctly. You can call a backboard slap at any time if you think the act was unsporting.

From POE #4 on backboard slapping from the 2008-09 FED rule book....
"The rules specify that intentionally slapping or striking the backboard is a technical. The spirit and intent of the rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to themselves or as a means of venting frustration."

Iow it's a judgment call...and the slap in the OP also has to be a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
You think correctly. You can call a backboard slap at any time if you think the act was unsporting.

From POE #4 on backboard slapping from the 2008-09 FED rule book....
"The rules specify that intentionally slapping or striking the backboard is a technical. The spirit and intent of the rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to themselves or as a means of venting frustration."

Iow it's a judgment call...and the slap in the OP also has to be a judgment call.
While that is true, you aren't calling the T based on rule 10-3-4 as it doesn't deal with unsporting acts, you're calling it based on 10-3-6.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
B44's smack of the backboard is not a technical foul as there is no try in flight (10-3-4b).
And I was simply commenting on Bob's response to the above statement. Whether the try was in flight or not doesn't mean that a "T" still couldn't have been called against B44.... as Tref also correctly pointed out to you.

You judge the act, no matter whether that act was inside or outside the course of play. That's exactly what the FED told us to do in that POE that I cited.

Maybe you didn't intend it as such, but the sentence above leaves the impression that you can't call a "T" by rule for slapping the backboard while no try is in flight. You can but it is always a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And I was simply commenting on Bob's response to the above statement. Whether the try was in flight or not doesn't mean that a "T" still couldn't have been called against B44.... as Tref also correctly pointed out to you.

You judge the act, no matter whether that act was inside or outside the course of play. That's exactly what the FED told us to do in that POE that I cited.

Maybe you didn't intend it as such, but the sentence above leaves the impression that you can't call a "T" by rule for slapping the backboard while no try is in flight. You can but it is always a judgment call.
Yeah, communication error on my part. My point was that it had to be unsporting to call the T, a "basic" slap in this situation is not a T.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:10pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
Yeah, communication error on my part. My point was that it had to be unsporting to call the T, a "basic" slap in this situation is not a T.
What do you mean by a "basic" slap as it applies to the OP?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
What do you mean by a "basic" slap as it applies to the OP?
Basic as opposed to unsporting. It wasn't immediately clear to me that the official felt the slap was itself unsporting as opposed to slaps being inherently unsporting.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:26pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
Basic as opposed to unsporting. It wasn't immediately clear to me that the official felt the slap was itself unsporting as opposed to slaps being inherently unsporting.
It was clear what the official felt in the OP:

Quote:
...Blue 44 smacks the backboard, unrelated to the shot. He said 'C' blew his whistle after Blue 44 smacked the backboard and gave him a technical foul...
Obviously he felt if wasn't a "basic" slap.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It was clear what the official felt in the OP:



Obviously he felt if wasn't a "basic" slap.
No, it's not obvious at all. There are multiple ways to receive a T for slapping the backboard. The fact that he called a T does not tell us which rule he based his decision on.

Since they had not yet called goaltending, he could have felt the try was in flight and therefore penalized a basic slap.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:35pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
No, it's not obvious at all. There are multiple ways to receive a T for slapping the backboard. The fact that he called a T does not tell us which rule he based his decision on.

Since they had not yet called goaltending, he could have felt the try was in flight and therefore penalized a basic slap.
What does the ball in flight have to do with a "basic slap" of the backboard? So if the ball is in flight you can't "basically" slap the backboard but if the ball isn't in flight it's alright to "basically slap the backboard? When did that become the criteria?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
What does the ball in flight have to do with a "basic slap" of the backboard? So if the ball is in flight you can't "basically" slap the backboard but if the ball isn't in flight it's alright to "basically slap the backboard? When did that become the criteria?
You have the hang of it now.

Quote:
10-3-4
A player shall not illegally contact the backboard/ring by:

a. Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.

b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.
As long as you haven't violated 10-3-4b and you aren't being unsporting by "draw[ing] attention to [yourself] or [as] a means of venting frustration" (10.3.4 Comment), you haven't committed a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:12pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
You have the hang of it now.



As long as you haven't violated 10-3-4b and you aren't being unsporting by "draw[ing] attention to [yourself] or [as] a means of venting frustration" (10.3.4 Comment), you haven't committed a technical foul.
And how is the rule worded for the unsporting portion of this discussion?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
It is but the other clauses aren't relevant here.
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
It can be read that way, but then the comment from 10.3.4 doesn't make any sense as there would never be a need to use 10-3-6 for the T.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
That's the way I've always interpreted.

But I do want to know the wording for the "unsporting" act East is referring to. I still have 90 minutes before I can get to my books.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goaltending Referee24.7 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 09, 2009 08:56am
Goaltending jc147119 Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2008 05:14pm
Goaltending or not? ofishe8r Basketball 14 Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:15pm
Goaltending? actuary77 Basketball 26 Sun Oct 29, 2006 04:25pm
goaltending Matt S. Basketball 1 Sat Jan 29, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1