![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
"If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s)." (NFHS 2-10-6)
Zoochy already pointed out that if you would not have a count, the ball is not at the team's disposal after a made basket. So you are still in the time frame to correct the error. Since the error is corrected, play is resumed from POI, which is the throw-in that follows A's basket. (Don't confused 2-10-6's use of "team possession", it is not the same thing as team control).
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Yes. Ask yourself, whose ball is it?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
The possession question is entirely separate from the at the disposal question. Whether the ball is at the thrower's disposal is key to determining if we're still within the time frame to correct the error. Whether there has been a change of possession is key to determining how to resume play after correcting the error.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
No Blind Jokes Please ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
The response in post #3 by pizanno is not correct.
For the proper ruling see post #4 by Back in the Saddle. As has been stated, once the throw-in count starts it is too late to correct the error of failing to award a merited FT. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
A question regarding "change of possession". (c.o.p.)
A1 is shooting an un-merited FT. (a)B1 or (b)A2 secures the rebound. In (a) this would a c.o.p. in (b) it would not be c.o.p.? Do I have that right? |
|
|||
|
I think there's some case (but it might be only NCAA, I forget) where (a) is NOT COP
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Oh okay....A's made basket. Got it.
|
|
|||
|
That's what I have. The key here, as I see it, is point of interruption. What's the P.O.I. after a field goal? Backcourt, end-line throw-in for the opponent. You can't line up folks on the correctable free throw if the ball is going to the other team.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Correctable error | nukewhistle | Basketball | 6 | Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:06am |
| Correctable error at jump ball | John Schaefferkoetter | Basketball | 13 | Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:37am |
| Correctable error... | w_sohl | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 30, 2003 04:31pm |
| Correctable Error | ScottParks | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:22am |
| Correctable Error - Jump Ball | Todd (Mike) Mullen | Basketball | 1 | Tue Jan 11, 2000 11:12pm |