The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 01:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Correctable error

Team A winning 62-59,3.3 secs left in game. After a time out,A1 inbounds from the backcourt,throws long into the frontcourt,ball touched/stolen by B2,clock chopped with 1.3 secs....horn sounds. Game over? The timekeeper mistakenly started the clock early on A1's throw in. Is this a correctable error?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 04:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,715
It's not a "correctable error" in NFHS basketball jargon, but it is an obvious timing mistake which can be fixed by the referee with definite knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 08:11am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It's not a "correctable error" in NFHS basketball jargon, but it is an obvious timing mistake which can be fixed by the referee with definite knowledge.
The only way that the R can fix this error is if an official was actually looking at the game clock when B2 first touched the ball. I can't see how or why any floor official would start an official's count when the ball left the thrower's hands.

What confuses me is "clock chopped with 1.3 seconds". Officials "chop" clocks: timers start the clock on the "chop". It doesn't really matter though if the clock was started early on the throw-in. Moot point

If I'm reading this correctly, B1 first touched the ball with 1.3 seconds on the clock and hopefully B1 had possession when the horn went. If so, and an official was looking at the game clock and saw 1.3 on it at the first touching, then the R could give team B the ball at the closest spot and put 2 seconds back on the clock.

The problem is whatthehell do you do if B1 touched the ball with 1.3 on the clock and the ball was loose when the horn went off? An AP at the closest spot sounds right, but I can't see where that ruling is definitively correct under R4-36 or R6-4 either. This might be another one that ain't definitively covered. Nowayinhell am I gonna give the ball back to A for a do-over throw-in though.

Of course, if the R doesn't have definite knowledge, it's game over.

Interesting situation.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Sep 19, 2006 at 08:14am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 106
Sounds like something that could have been taken care of during the time out...get with the timekeeper and let him/her know who will be chopping the clock and to wait until the clock is chopped.

We've all been in the close games, down to the wire. I've been with crews that spend most of their time inquiring as to how many time outs are left instead of anticipating the play and preparing the crew accordingly. Just as with a proper pre-game, anticipate and prepare.
__________________
Call what you SAW...not what you see!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 08:45am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditttoo
Sounds like something that could have been taken care of during the time out...get with the timekeeper and let him/her know who will be chopping the clock and to wait until the clock is chopped.
This doesn't help once the error has been made. I posted a similar scenario earlier this spring concerning an AAU game I had and no one came up with a definitive answer back then either.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditttoo
Sounds like something that could have been taken care of during the time out...get with the timekeeper and let him/her know who will be chopping the clock and to wait until the clock is chopped.

We've all been in the close games, down to the wire. I've been with crews that spend most of their time inquiring as to how many time outs are left instead of anticipating the play and preparing the crew accordingly. Just as with a proper pre-game, anticipate and prepare.
Still, even through all your effort, some timekeeper, somewhere, will mess it up.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Correctable Error

[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]The only way that the R can fix this error is if an official was actually looking at the game clock when B2 first touched the ball. I can't see how or why any floor official would start an official's count when the ball left the thrower's hands.

What confuses me is "clock chopped with 1.3 seconds". Officials "chop" clocks: timers start the clock on the "chop". It doesn't really matter though if the clock was started early on the throw-in. Moot point

If I'm reading this correctly, B1 first touched the ball with 1.3 seconds on the clock and hopefully B1 had possession when the horn went. If so, and an official was looking at the game clock and saw 1.3 on it at the first touching, then the R could give team B the ball at the closest spot and put 2 seconds back on the clock.

The problem is whatthehell do you do if B1 touched the ball with 1.3 on the clock and the ball was loose when the horn went off? An AP at the closest spot sounds right, but I can't see where that ruling is definitively correct under R4-36 or R6-4 either. This might be another one that ain't definitively covered. Nowayinhell am I gonna give the ball back to A for a do-over throw-in though.

Of course, if the R doesn't have definite knowledge, it's game over.

Interesting situation.

[ It was a city league game with one official and one timer/scorekeeper. I gave the ball to team B,closest spot with two secs put back on the clock.Team B attempts to in bound the ball and calls a time out without having one,a technical...essentially game over Thanks for feedback]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
correctable error? RoyalsCoach Basketball 8 Mon Nov 21, 2005 02:24pm
Correctable Error? Viking32 Basketball 3 Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:48am
correctable error?? cmathews Basketball 7 Wed Feb 26, 2003 01:40am
Correctable Error Gochron Basketball 7 Sun Feb 24, 2002 02:23pm
correctable error Stan Basketball 15 Wed Feb 20, 2002 11:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1