The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 336
no change of possession?

No change of possession. Award 2nd FT with players lined up. Basket counts.

NCAA 2-12.5 When an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to correct the error, unless the correction involves the failure to award a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made. In that case, play shall resume as after any normal free throw.

I tried to find a reference that establishes ball at disposal = possession, but could not find. Anyone?
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 06:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizanno View Post
No change of possession. Award 2nd FT with players lined up. Basket counts.

NCAA 2-12.5 When an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to correct the error, unless the correction involves the failure to award a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made. In that case, play shall resume as after any normal free throw.

I tried to find a reference that establishes ball at disposal = possession, but could not find. Anyone?
I'm pretty sure the made basket constitutes a change of possession here; just as A kicking the ball out of bounds would have.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 07:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizanno View Post
I tried to find a reference that establishes ball at disposal = possession, but could not find. Anyone?
NFHS case book play 6.1.2SitB COMMENT.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Page 2 of 2010-11 Rule book

4-4-7d Clarified that the ball is at the disposal of a player when it is
available after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error nukewhistle Basketball 6 Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:06am
Correctable error at jump ball John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 13 Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:37am
Correctable error... w_sohl Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2003 04:31pm
Correctable Error ScottParks Basketball 8 Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:22am
Correctable Error - Jump Ball Todd (Mike) Mullen Basketball 1 Tue Jan 11, 2000 11:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1