The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Correctable Error/Live Ball

A1 is fouled. Table signals bonus. First FT is missed. A2 rebounds and Team A eventually scores on this possession. When the basket is made the table blows the horn and says it should have been 2 shots.

Assuming it's within the acceptable time to correct the error am I correct that the basket counts, A1 goes back to the line with the lane cleared, and then the ball goes OOB to B?

Secondly, one of the ways a ball becomes live is to "be available" to the thrower for a throw-in. In my scenario above at what point are we saying it "became available" in order to determine if it's still within the limits of correcting the error?

If B1 catches it out of the net and then is on his/her way to OOB in order to throw it in is that now live?

It seems like the window is so small for the ball to be dead that it's almost impossible to correct the error in this type of scenario.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 839
I do believe there was a clearification, this year, to your play.
Even though the ball is in the hands of B1, the ball is not 'Live' until you start your count for the throw-in. The window is small but not as small as you seem to think.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 336
no change of possession?

No change of possession. Award 2nd FT with players lined up. Basket counts.

NCAA 2-12.5 When an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to correct the error, unless the correction involves the failure to award a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made. In that case, play shall resume as after any normal free throw.

I tried to find a reference that establishes ball at disposal = possession, but could not find. Anyone?
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 06:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizanno View Post
No change of possession. Award 2nd FT with players lined up. Basket counts.

NCAA 2-12.5 When an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to correct the error, unless the correction involves the failure to award a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made. In that case, play shall resume as after any normal free throw.

I tried to find a reference that establishes ball at disposal = possession, but could not find. Anyone?
I'm pretty sure the made basket constitutes a change of possession here; just as A kicking the ball out of bounds would have.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 07:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizanno View Post
I tried to find a reference that establishes ball at disposal = possession, but could not find. Anyone?
NFHS case book play 6.1.2SitB COMMENT.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 839
Page 2 of 2010-11 Rule book

4-4-7d Clarified that the ball is at the disposal of a player when it is
available after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
"If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s)." (NFHS 2-10-6)

Zoochy already pointed out that if you would not have a count, the ball is not at the team's disposal after a made basket. So you are still in the time frame to correct the error. Since the error is corrected, play is resumed from POI, which is the throw-in that follows A's basket. (Don't confused 2-10-6's use of "team possession", it is not the same thing as team control).
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
"If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s)." (NFHS 2-10-6)

Zoochy already pointed out that if you would not have a count, the ball is not at the team's disposal after a made basket. So you are still in the time frame to correct the error. Since the error is corrected, play is resumed from POI, which is the throw-in that follows A's basket. (Don't confused 2-10-6's use of "team possession", it is not the same thing as team control).
Has there been a change of possession?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Has there been a change of possession?
Yes. Ask yourself, whose ball is it?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 07:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Has there been a change of possession?
Who cares? Read the case play cited. That's all you gotta do.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Nov 18, 2010 at 07:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 07:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Who cares? Read the case play cited. That's all you gotta do.
The possession question is entirely separate from the at the disposal question. Whether the ball is at the thrower's disposal is key to determining if we're still within the time frame to correct the error. Whether there has been a change of possession is key to determining how to resume play after correcting the error.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
"If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s)." (NFHS 2-10-6)

Zoochy already pointed out that if you would not have a count, the ball is not at the team's disposal after a made basket. So you are still in the time frame to correct the error. Since the error is corrected, play is resumed from POI, which is the throw-in that follows A's basket. (Don't confused 2-10-6's use of "team possession", it is not the same thing as team control).
So in the case discussed you line everyone up and resume after the second FT by A1 just like any other FT? Don't clear the lane for the second FT and give it to B for a throw-in?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 10:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
So in the case discussed you line everyone up and resume after the second FT by A1 just like any other FT? Don't clear the lane for the second FT and give it to B for a throw-in?
No, the made basket equals a change in possession, even if B hadn't yet started their throwin. It's their ball, they just haven't started yet. One FT with the lane cleared, followed by an end-line throw-in for B.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No, the made basket equals a change in possession, even if B hadn't yet started their throwin. It's their ball, they just haven't started yet. One FT with the lane cleared, followed by an end-line throw-in for B.
Oh okay....A's made basket. Got it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 11:33pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
One FT with the lane cleared, followed by an end-line throw-in for B.
That's what I have. The key here, as I see it, is point of interruption. What's the P.O.I. after a field goal? Backcourt, end-line throw-in for the opponent. You can't line up folks on the correctable free throw if the ball is going to the other team.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error nukewhistle Basketball 6 Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:06am
Correctable error at jump ball John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 13 Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:37am
Correctable error... w_sohl Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2003 04:31pm
Correctable Error ScottParks Basketball 8 Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:22am
Correctable Error - Jump Ball Todd (Mike) Mullen Basketball 1 Tue Jan 11, 2000 11:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1