![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
2007-08 NFHS Interpretations
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1) Argue with this guy.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If causing the ball to have BC status were the violation, we'd blow the whistle the moment the ball bounces in the backcourt even if it was not yet touched. But it is not and we don't.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Questions for Veteran officials | Sirrefalot | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 23, 2006 08:46am |
| Working on a crew vs. working unattached | OverAndBack | Football | 15 | Tue Oct 05, 2004 06:36pm |
| Working the Lead/Working the Trail? | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 5 | Tue Mar 11, 2003 12:33pm |
| Need some advice from a veteran! | Buckeye12 | Baseball | 16 | Mon Oct 07, 2002 10:02am |