![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
And with the string of recent posts....
....this thread has officially been hijacked.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
When A touched it, it gained BC status. The end result would be the same as if B1 touched it in the FC, then A4 touched it, then it hit the floor in BC where A1 was the first to touch it. In the initial play, the team never lost team control and A violated by catching the ball in the air in BC before the ball gained BC status. B's touch is not germane to the case play because the ball did not hit the floor in BC. And there was no change in team control.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
In the interp play, B1's touch is the last event prior to the ball gaining BC status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
However, this is also not relevent. The 10 second count is about the status of the ball...nothing more. The BC violation is about who touched the ball before and after the change in status of the ball from FC to BC.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
So, what happens next? A1 has player control and a 10 second count is still continuing. Team control has not changed. And they have not caused the ball to gain FC status. I don't like the ruling in the play being discussed, but I cannot set the rule aside because I do not like it.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Team A doesn't have to cause the ball to gain FC status, that's not part of the rule any more than causing it to gain BC status is part of it. We can't add "cause" to the rule in order to make the interp correct.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
2007-08 NFHS Interpretations
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1) Argue with this guy.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
The interp specifically mentions "caused the ball to have backcourt status," which is definitively not in the rule. Again, this interp leads one to have to call a violation in the play I presented earlier; which is absurd.It also does not fit the rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If causing the ball to have BC status were the violation, we'd blow the whistle the moment the ball bounces in the backcourt even if it was not yet touched. But it is not and we don't.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt." They're interpreting "went to the backcourt" in terms of what causes the ball to have BC status. That seems OK to me. I even think that the "simultaneity" objection lacks merit: if event A causes event B, then A has to happen before B. When a player's touch causes the ball to have BC status, the player was the last to touch before the ball "went" to the BC. [Hint: I'm playing devil's advocate here. Can you locate the fallacy?]
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
||||
|
Quote:
The fallacy in your point? Use of the word "cause" where it's not warranted. A ball gains backcourt status at a precise moment in time. A separate event cannot happen both before and after that moment. So, let me ask you, would you call a violation on the play I submitted?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Questions for Veteran officials | Sirrefalot | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 23, 2006 08:46am |
| Working on a crew vs. working unattached | OverAndBack | Football | 15 | Tue Oct 05, 2004 06:36pm |
| Working the Lead/Working the Trail? | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 5 | Tue Mar 11, 2003 12:33pm |
| Need some advice from a veteran! | Buckeye12 | Baseball | 16 | Mon Oct 07, 2002 10:02am |