The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Right, I'd forgotten about the "after it has been released" part, but I'm not sure about the "legally" part; unless it's new. I'll check my book when I get in the car.
5-9-4: "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the
ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by
the thrower."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
A1 is to inbound following a violation on team B. The clock is stopped. A1 holds the ball over the line and it is grabbed by B1, forcing a jump ball.
How can this be a jump ball if one player is OOB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
5-9-4: "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower."
In the OP it is stated that A1 still has possession of the ball OOB when B1 creates the "jump ball". A1 never releases the ball & is still OOB, so how can the clock be started?
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 07:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
How can this be a jump ball if one player is OOB?
Because that's the rule. Would call would you suggest?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Because that's the rule. Would call would you suggest?
All I was doing was asking a question as to why the call is what it is.

How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.
You're making up rules. Of course the defense is trying to prevent the offense from completing a throw-in -- no rule prohibits that.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You're making up rules. Of course the defense is trying to prevent the offense from completing a throw-in -- no rule prohibits that.
by B1 grabbing the ball and preventing A1 from completing the throw-in while A1 still has the ball is not a violation?

mbyron, I also asked that be shown the rule &/or case book play that says otherwise, which you did not do.

How about 9-2-10?
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson

Last edited by chseagle; Wed Nov 10, 2010 at 08:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:36pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
by B1 grabbing the ball and preventing A1 from completing the throw-in while A1 still has the ball is not a violation?

mbyron, I also asked that be shown the rule &/or case book play that says otherwise, which you did not do.

How about 9-2-10?
Read the OP again. A1 extended the ball over the line, iow, out over the inbounds area.

Now tell us how 9-2-10 applies.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 11:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
All I was doing was asking a question as to why the call is what it is.

How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.
You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:32am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4
The player breaking the plane is the violation. It has nothing to do with completing the throw-in.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 06:09am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4
Um, no. The thrower held the ball over the plane in-bounds. The defender grabbed the ball on the in-bounds side of the plane. At NO time, did the defender cross the plane out-of-bounds. That's why it's a legal play.

You don't have a friggin' clue whatinthehell you're talking about. And that includes when and why to start the clock. If you don't understand what we're talking about, by all means ask questions until you do. But DO NOT try to tell us what to do. Quite simply, you do not have the rules knowledge to be doing something like that.

Just a suggestion from the kinder, gentler JR.....
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 07:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
5-9-4: "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the
ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by
the thrower."
Saw that, thanks. I also see it was the same last year. I wonder if it's changed, as I recall a dilemma on this play but don't see it now.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Saw that, thanks. I also see it was the same last year. I wonder if it's changed, as I recall a dilemma on this play but don't see it now.
Perhaps you are confusing this with a previous discussion about a kicked inbounds pass? In that case the throw-in has been released. Or I would hope it has been.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 11:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Perhaps you are confusing this with a previous discussion about a kicked inbounds pass? In that case the throw-in has been released. Or I would hope it has been.
I was thinking that, to be honest, but the way the rule reads even that wouldn't start the clock.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clock question SamG Basketball 6 Mon Mar 29, 2010 05:09pm
A weird weekend for weird plays... SRW Softball 17 Tue Jun 17, 2008 04:18pm
weird clock situation blindzebra Basketball 2 Tue Dec 06, 2005 08:45pm
Weird Backcourt Question JLC Basketball 24 Sun Dec 26, 2004 07:24pm
Clock Question? APHP Basketball 17 Fri Feb 21, 2003 08:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1