![]() |
|
|
|||
Plus, the defender's feet are really wide, so if there was contact on the leg first, that's a block.
|
|
|||
You cannot defend this call by rule either. There is nothing whatsoever about feet being shoulder-width apart (that's only on setting legal screens). In fact, a player is allowed to move laterally to maintian legal guarding position, and it is impossible to move laterally with out spreading feet.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Specifically NFHS rule 4-23-1--"A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or LEG into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs." And you can add rule 4-45-6.."The defender may not belly up or use the LOWER PART OF THE BODY or arms to cause contact outside of his/her vertical plane which is a foul." Those are basics. Always a judgment call but if you think that a leg is extended, you should call a block every time. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Oct 29, 2010 at 09:44am. |
|
|||
But look at the clip, boys. There is NO WAY you could argue that the defender extended a leg or hip or anything. There is direct shoulder to torso contact.
Of course you can't stick out a leg or shoulder. But you can certainly obtain legal guarding position and have your feet more than should-width apart. |
|
|||
Quote:
Imo your second-guessing is not defensible by the film shown. |
|
|||
I guess we are not looking at the same clip. I suppose one could somehow argue that it's a block, but certainly not because a leg was extended into the path of the offensive player. This is clealy a shoulder right into the torso.
|
|
|||
We can't be. I'm sureasheck not looking at the one where you are right and anybody that disagrees with you is automatically wrong.
You're the one that put it up for discussion. No need at all to get pissy if/when somebody disagrees with you. JMO. |
|
|||
Quote:
BTW, I can't see the clip right now so I don't have an opinion.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block Charge Question | sseltser | Basketball | 37 | Wed Oct 24, 2007 04:49pm |
another charge vs. block question | refwannabe | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:36pm |
Block Charge Rules Question | DownTownTonyBrown | Basketball | 4 | Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:37am |
Quick Charge/Block Question | BBallinRick | Basketball | 11 | Wed May 19, 2004 12:21pm |
Block-Charge (Philosophy Question) | footlocker | Basketball | 23 | Sat Feb 21, 2004 11:08pm |