![]() |
|
|
|||
I am not getting pissy. But, true, I don't see how anyone reviewing this play could make the case that the defender illegal extends a leg into the path of the dribbler. The rule book is clear that if there is contact into the torso of the defender (after the defender established legal guarding position), the offensive player is responsible. And that is exactly what we have on this play.
I'd like to hear other opinions. |
|
|||
+1
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
First of all, the video using the word "Flex" makes me chuckle. Second, I think this is a mechanics issues...we don't make calls in rotation for this exact reason. The center offical has a great look at this drive and play. I would like the lead to stop in the paint when the drive from the "C" side starts.
__________________
Every game is a big game ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Uh, no. It doesn't. Contact that creates an advantage for the offensive player/team is a foul, not contact alone. As others have said, a falling defender (sort of faking the foul) is much less likely to be disadvantaged by contact than a defender who is continuing to actually play defense.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block Charge Question | sseltser | Basketball | 37 | Wed Oct 24, 2007 04:49pm |
another charge vs. block question | refwannabe | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:36pm |
Block Charge Rules Question | DownTownTonyBrown | Basketball | 4 | Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:37am |
Quick Charge/Block Question | BBallinRick | Basketball | 11 | Wed May 19, 2004 12:21pm |
Block-Charge (Philosophy Question) | footlocker | Basketball | 23 | Sat Feb 21, 2004 11:08pm |