![]() |
|
|
|||
jump stop
The first part of the play you describe is called a jump stop. That part is legal. What is not legal is pivoting from the jump stop. At camp, this was referred to as a 'jump stop extra' and is a travel. In addition to what grunewar states, check out case play 4.44.2
|
|
|||
There are two types of "jump stops." After one, the player can pivot; after the other, the player cannot.
|
|
|||
Quote:
So would it be fair to say that when a player is in the air w/o posession, catches the ball, jumpstops on both feet, either foot may be pivot...BUT when a player is dribbling and already has posession, jump stops on both feet, NEITHER foot can pe pivot? |
|
|||
If the player ends the dribble with a foot on the floor, jumps, and lands simultaneously on both feet, then the player may NOT pivot. If the player ends the dribble with both feet off the floor, and lands simultaneously with both feet, then the player may pivot with either foot. This is the version of the jump stop I see most often and I think the version most coaches teach their kids. It's all a matter of determining when the dribble was ended.
|
|
|||
Quote:
If a player is dribbling and jumps in the air and ends their dribble and lands simultaneously on two feet then it is either a legal jump stop or a travel(non-legal jump stop). There can be no pivoting(legally) after dribble then jump in the air and ending the dribble and then landing simultaneously on two feet. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() NFHS rule 4-44-2(a)..."A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows: (a1) If both feet are off the floor and the player lands simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot." Best re-think that one. You're wrong. |
|
|||
If a player dribbles and ends his dribble while both feet are in the air, he'll either land simultaneously on both feet and be allowed to pivot on either foot, or one foot will come down before the other and will establish one foot or the other as a pivot foot (or thirdly he'll land on one foot, jump off that foot, and land simultaneously on both feet or else be called for traveling).
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
Back to my point. I guess I am unclear as to how the player can end the dribble while in the air. What I picture is the player taking his last dribble and jumping to pass or shoot or finish his move with his jump stop or take his steps to the basket. I can't really picture a player dribbling while in the air. I guess in theory this is possible. edit; Just thought of this. About one year ago, I was playing in a pick-up game. Shot went up and player A rebounded and while still in the air, he dribbled the ball and then caught it and then landed. No idea why he did this but it fits perfectly in this post and is legal and now the player can pivot using either foot. I actually got into an argument with another player about this, because it looked so weird the other player said it was a travel and he could not come down with ball. I argued that he could. Now, if this ever occurs in a game I am reffing, I know he can come down with the ball and pivot with either foot ![]() I admit being wrong but it is a very weird play. Last edited by hoopguy; Thu Sep 09, 2010 at 11:47am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|