Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy
Back to my point. I guess I am unclear as to how the player can end the dribble while in the air.
|
Again, it's clearly delineated in the rules. As per NFHS rule 4-15-4, the dribble ends when the dribbler catches the ball or causes it to come to rest in one or both hands. And if the dribbler does that while he's airborne, he's now governed by the rule cited above--rule 4-44-2(a). If he now lands simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot. If he lands on one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot. If he lands on one foot, he can jump off that foot and land simultaneously on both feet but neither foot can never be the pivot.
Rule 4-44-2(b) tells you what to call when a player ends a dribble while having one foot on the floor.
If you forget about what a "jump stop" is supposed to be and simply learn those rules, you'll never have a problem getting the call right.
AllPurposeGamer gave you the correct answers.