View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 06:43am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooter2 View Post
Page 38, Section 44, Art. 2 reads as follows:
A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1 Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.

The situation I saw was as follows:
Player A was leading the break and came to a jump stop with BOTH feet hitting simultaneously at the foul line. He was going to pass, but instead opted not to, and reverse pivoted before passing the ball back outside to a teammate. The referee called traveling on Player A.

The rule seems to state that this should NOT have been traveling. Is this traveling or not?
The rule you're quoting refers to the play where a player who is in the air catches the ball and then lands on both feet. Either foot may be the pivot in that case.

The play you describe is a jump stop by a player already in possession of the ball. That player cannot pivot after the jump stop.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote