The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
I need help with this one...

Page 38, Section 44, Art. 2 reads as follows:
A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1 Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.

The situation I saw was as follows:
Player A was leading the break and came to a jump stop with BOTH feet hitting simultaneously at the foul line. He was going to pass, but instead opted not to, and reverse pivoted before passing the ball back outside to a teammate. The referee called traveling on Player A.

The rule seems to state that this should NOT have been traveling. Is this traveling or not?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 11:56am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Perhaps the referee saw this:

b. If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both.
Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

So, if you saw both feet off the floor, you could be correct. However, the official might have seen it as above with one foot on the floor, and in that case, he would be correct.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
jump stop

The first part of the play you describe is called a jump stop. That part is legal. What is not legal is pivoting from the jump stop. At camp, this was referred to as a 'jump stop extra' and is a travel. In addition to what grunewar states, check out case play 4.44.2
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy View Post
The first part of the play you describe is called a jump stop. That part is legal. What is not legal is pivoting from the jump stop.
There are two types of "jump stops." After one, the player can pivot; after the other, the player cannot.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
There are two types of "jump stops." After one, the player can pivot; after the other, the player cannot.

So would it be fair to say that when a player is in the air w/o posession, catches the ball, jumpstops on both feet, either foot may be pivot...BUT when a player is dribbling and already has posession, jump stops on both feet, NEITHER foot can pe pivot?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 02:40pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbzebra View Post
So would it be fair to say that when a player is in the air w/o posession, catches the ball, jumpstops on both feet, either foot may be pivot...BUT when a player is dribbling and already has posession, jump stops on both feet, NEITHER foot can pe pivot?
If the player ends the dribble with a foot on the floor, jumps, and lands simultaneously on both feet, then the player may NOT pivot. If the player ends the dribble with both feet off the floor, and lands simultaneously with both feet, then the player may pivot with either foot. This is the version of the jump stop I see most often and I think the version most coaches teach their kids. It's all a matter of determining when the dribble was ended.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 06:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooter2 View Post
Page 38, Section 44, Art. 2 reads as follows:
A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1 Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.

The situation I saw was as follows:
Player A was leading the break and came to a jump stop with BOTH feet hitting simultaneously at the foul line. He was going to pass, but instead opted not to, and reverse pivoted before passing the ball back outside to a teammate. The referee called traveling on Player A.

The rule seems to state that this should NOT have been traveling. Is this traveling or not?
The rule you're quoting refers to the play where a player who is in the air catches the ball and then lands on both feet. Either foot may be the pivot in that case.

The play you describe is a jump stop by a player already in possession of the ball. That player cannot pivot after the jump stop.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1