Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
So by this logic, what happens when a player catches the ball in the air and lands on both feet, but not simultaneously?
|
What does my post have to do with catching the ball? It is about ending the dribble. So why say 'by this logic' when I am talking about dribbling and you are talking about catching the ball? As you know, the rules are very specific to each.
Back to my point. I guess I am unclear as to how the player can end the dribble while in the air. What I picture is the player taking his last dribble and jumping to pass or shoot or finish his move with his jump stop or take his steps to the basket. I can't really picture a player dribbling while in the air. I guess in theory this is possible.
edit;
Just thought of this. About one year ago, I was playing in a pick-up game. Shot went up and player A rebounded and while still in the air, he dribbled the ball and then caught it and then landed. No idea why he did this but it fits perfectly in this post and is legal and now the player can pivot using either foot. I actually got into an argument with another player about this, because it looked so weird the other player said it was a travel and he could not come down with ball. I argued that he could.
Now, if this ever occurs in a game I am reffing, I know he can come down with the ball and pivot with either foot
I admit being wrong but it is a very weird play.