The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2010, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 37
Here's a little more information to clarify

It was a "long" defensive rebound just outside the paint just above the second free throw space. Naturally, the guards float to the ball to go for the strip. His primary defender (whom he beat to the ball) is there plus one other guard - both going for the ball. Another defender approaches from behind ( I guess he though he could sneak up and still the ball). He leans in takes a couple of swipes, but I don't think the post player knows he's there yet on account that there are 4 arms reaching for the ball from the front. He pivots away from these two, and as he does, he makes contact with the third defender.

I hope this clears up any confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2010, 11:18pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Sounds like a no-call unless it knocked the ball out.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2010, 11:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
That makes sense and I would have to see the contact to judge but if the defensive player ends up on the ground, I will go with some salt on the wound. The reasons being that it will help clean up the game b/c it won't happen again. Also, another player may see what they think is an elbow that wasn't called and want to retaliate.
I'm not going to call a foul on B1 just because B2 might retaliate otherwise. Frankly, I'm no-calling it because it's not a foul by rule. B1's actions didn't prevent A1 from participating in normal offensive movements, so the contact is incidental by rule.

Getting an elbow in the nose prevents it just as much, if not more so, than a foul call. I'm not making a call just because it might somehow lessen the grief I might take for making the correct no-call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2010, 11:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hornets222003 View Post
Here's a little more information to clarify

It was a "long" defensive rebound just outside the paint just above the second free throw space. Naturally, the guards float to the ball to go for the strip. His primary defender (whom he beat to the ball) is there plus one other guard - both going for the ball. Another defender approaches from behind ( I guess he though he could sneak up and still the ball). He leans in takes a couple of swipes, but I don't think the post player knows he's there yet on account that there are 4 arms reaching for the ball from the front. He pivots away from these two, and as he does, he makes contact with the third defender.

I hope this clears up any confusion.
I really think this is a HTBT, but I'm wondering how an extended elbow can hit a jaw, but the jaw is in A1's space. If the elbow is extended, then that, by rule, is outside the player's space.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2010, 11:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
I really think this is a HTBT, but I'm wondering how an extended elbow can hit a jaw, but the jaw is in A1's space. If the elbow is extended, then that, by rule, is outside the player's space.
Not necessarily. Chinning the ball doesn't mean the elbows are outside the player's space. That's the impression I got from his post, even though he said "extended." Having the player behind him leaning in and trying to swipe a ball that's in front, it's going to have to be pretty obvious that the elbow was extended and swinging excessively.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm not going to call a foul on B1 just because B2 might retaliate otherwise. Frankly, I'm no-calling it because it's not a foul by rule. B1's actions didn't prevent A1 from participating in normal offensive movements, so the contact is incidental by rule.

Getting an elbow in the nose prevents it just as much, if not more so, than a foul call. I'm not making a call just because it might somehow lessen the grief I might take for making the correct no-call.
We agree. I was working from the angle that B1's actions DID prevent A1 from making a normal offensive move.
With the final post, we also agree. Again, being a HTBT, I would think this sounds like a now call as well unless the ball comes loose.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 12:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Hornets:

Based upon your description this is a player control foul by the post player.

MTD, Sr.
Agree....while it is not excessivly swinging, a player may not legally move into another player who has obtained LGP. Just becasue the piviot is legal doesn't absolve the player form committing a foul in the process. If it were any different, post players could pivot their way through their defenders for easy layups/dunks.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 07:45am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
The reasons being that it will help clean up the game b/c it won't happen again. Also, another player may see what they think is an elbow that wasn't called and want to retaliate.
If it hasn't happened yet, there's NO need to clean up the game. You can get yourself into a heaped-high steaming pile of doo-doo by trying to send a message when there's absolutely no need to do so.

Just make the call based on it's own merits. As Snaqs said, you might feel that the best call for that particular play might be a no-call for incidental contact. It might also be a case where the pivot is borderline legal/illegal and you really do want to send a message. But the main idea imo is to judge whether the original pivot was legally made or not. That's the whole crux of the call. If you do decide that the pivot was legally made, it's fairly easy to judge any ensuing contact. The same holds true if you decide that it was an illegal pivot.

What you don't want to ever do is pre-judge the legality of the pivot.

Over-thinking these type of calls can get you into trouble.

JMO.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 08:02am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
I really think this is a HTBT, but I'm wondering how an extended elbow can hit a jaw, but the jaw is in A1's space. If the elbow is extended, then that, by rule, is outside the player's space.
What rule?

I can't think of any rule that states that a player with the ball can't extend his elbow(s) in a normal fashion while making a legal pivot. The decision that you have to make if contact occurs is whether the defender actually did have a legal, vertical stance or not. The defender's jaw may or may not be in A'1 space, but you have to determine that on each and every play. You can't make up a one-size fits-all dictum like an extended elbow is always illegal to cover these types of call. You don't have the rules-backing to do something like that/

You have to determine first and foremost if the pivot by A1 was legal or not. The ensuing right/proper call can't be made without that determination.

Of course, it's a HTBT call though. Every single one of these elbow-swinging situations is. You have to treat each and every one as a unique play imo and judge that play solely on it's merits. And like any other judgment call, you might get one wrong some time.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
What rule?

I can't think of any rule that states that a player with the ball can't extend his elbow(s) in a normal fashion while making a legal pivot. The decision that you have to make if contact occurs is whether the defender actually did have a legal, vertical stance or not. The defender's jaw may or may not be in A'1 space, but you have to determine that on each and every play. You can't make up a one-size fits-all dictum like an extended elbow is always illegal to cover these types of call. You don't have the rules-backing to do something like that/

You have to determine first and foremost if the pivot by A1 was legal or not. The ensuing right/proper call can't be made without that determination.

Of course, it's a HTBT call though. Every single one of these elbow-swinging situations is. You have to treat each and every one as a unique play imo and judge that play solely on it's merits. And like any other judgment call, you might get one wrong some time.
The rule is 4-24-6:
The extension of the elbows when the hands are on the hips or when the hands are held near the chest or when the arms are held more or less horizontally are examples of the illegal positions used.

The rules state that extending the elbows is not legal, even if you think it is "normal."


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Based on his description, there is nowayinhell that is a PC foul. It's a completely legal pivot as per NFHS rule 4-24-8:
"It is not legal to swing arms or elbows excessively. This occurs when arms and elbows are swung about while using the shoulders as pivots, and the speed of the extended arms is in excess of the rest of the body as it rotates on the hips or on the pivot foot."

There was NO excessive elbow swinging and the elbows were NOT moving faster than the torso.


I agree that there is not a one-size-fits-all way to call these. But for you to say that there is "nowayinhell" that this is a PC foul is wrong. Just because a pivot is legal, doesn't mean that the offensive player didn't cause illegal contact with his arms/elbows.
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 09:19am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
1)The rule is 4-24-6:

2) But for you to say that there is "nowayinhell" that this is a PC foul is wrong. Just because a pivot is legal, doesn't mean that the offensive player didn't cause illegal contact with his arms/elbows.
1) And you're treating 4-24-8 as if it doesn't exist. And 4-24-8 specifically refers to excessive and illegal elbow swinging, which is what we're discussing. Not all elbow swinging is excessive and illegal. If it was, any pivot with your arms out in a normal position would also be illegal. Do you really think that's the case?

2) There is nowayinhell you can call a PC foul or a violation on any offensive player with the ball while that player is making a LEGAL pivot. There is nothing written anywhere in the rules that will allow you to do so. To call either, you must have an illegal act of some kind to occur. And an legal pivot is NOt an illegal act. To say otherwise is simply ridiculous imo.

We're never going to agree. May I suggest that you take this to your local or state rules interpreter and ask them if an offensive player with the ball can ever be called for a PC foul or a violation while making a legal pivot.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 09:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
2009-10 NCAA-M POE

Excessive Swinging of the Elbows
Last year, there were increases in excessive swinging of the elbows. This action should not be ignored because of the associated danger to another player. Contact resulting from an illegally thrown elbow can cause serious injury. Consequently, excessive swinging of the elbow(s) is a point of emphasis.

When the arm and elbow, with the shoulder as a base (pivot) are swung with a speed that exceeds the rest of the body as it rotates on the hips or on the pivot foot, that action is considered to be excessive. Contact, after such an action, shall not be ignored but shall be called a flagrant foul. When the player’s arm(s) and elbow(s) are swung excessively but without contact, a violation has been committed.

When the arms and elbows and the rest of the body move with the same or similarly generated speed and contact occurs, that contact is not considered to be excessive. However, the contact is illegal, and a foul shall be assessed.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
In all positions the defender can assume a legal, vertical stance as close as possible to the player with the ball. But no matter how close the defender gets, he still has to allow the player with the ball to make a legal pivot. If contact occurs with the elbow while the player with the ball is making a legal pivot, then the defender did not attain the legal, vertical stance needed by rule.
Serious question: Is this comment in bold supported by rule? I know 4-23-1 gives us the guideline that there is no minimum distance a defender must give for guarding, as you pointed out. However, I have just never read anything about giving an offensive player room to make a legal pivot.

In regards to the play, I agree with Jurassic in that you have to see these plays on a case by case basis. If elbows are extended in order to create space and they make contact with a defender I am going with PC more times than not. To echo someone else that asked, wasn't this a POE for NCAA last year after the Hansborough incident? I seem to recall Adams viewing this type of contact as a PC foul and possibly intentional.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 10:58am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinRef View Post
...To echo someone else that asked, wasn't this a POE for NCAA last year after the Hansborough incident? I seem to recall Adams viewing this type of contact as a PC foul and possibly intentional.
Look above your post.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Look above your post.
Yeah, timing is awesome...

EDIT: Or, actually reading through the whole thread first woudl help...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excessive Swinging of Elbows fiasco Basketball 4 Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:09pm
Swinging elbows or not Damian Basketball 16 Tue Feb 28, 2006 01:06am
Elbows swinging dknick78 Basketball 18 Sat Dec 17, 2005 11:44pm
Swinging Elbows carldog Basketball 1 Wed Feb 11, 2004 09:18am
Concerning the Swinging of Elbows bard Basketball 19 Thu Jun 27, 2002 08:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1