View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2010, 08:02am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
I really think this is a HTBT, but I'm wondering how an extended elbow can hit a jaw, but the jaw is in A1's space. If the elbow is extended, then that, by rule, is outside the player's space.
What rule?

I can't think of any rule that states that a player with the ball can't extend his elbow(s) in a normal fashion while making a legal pivot. The decision that you have to make if contact occurs is whether the defender actually did have a legal, vertical stance or not. The defender's jaw may or may not be in A'1 space, but you have to determine that on each and every play. You can't make up a one-size fits-all dictum like an extended elbow is always illegal to cover these types of call. You don't have the rules-backing to do something like that/

You have to determine first and foremost if the pivot by A1 was legal or not. The ensuing right/proper call can't be made without that determination.

Of course, it's a HTBT call though. Every single one of these elbow-swinging situations is. You have to treat each and every one as a unique play imo and judge that play solely on it's merits. And like any other judgment call, you might get one wrong some time.
Reply With Quote