![]() |
|
|
|||
By the NFHS rule set, we call that 10-6-4. A player cannot extend his arms (except vertically) that hinders an opponent's movement at the time of contact. It may not have been a hold in your case, but it sounds like illegal contact, at the very least.
|
|
|||
would this rule also be applicable to an offensive player dribbling the ball with non dribbling hand/arm extended (arm bar protecting space. arm does not extend outward, just protects)?
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Should we hug now? ![]() ![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() i'm envisioning a point guard dribbling hard right over the division line while being closely guarded by a defender. the guard is dribbling with their right hand. their off hand isn't hanging limply at their side. it's extended to some degree for balance if nothing else. does that help a little? |
|
|||
Quote:
i see this a lot in girls hoops (which is prolly why you used gender in your answer, no?) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Closely guarded? No. Just throw out your arms. | Cager ref 1989 | Basketball | 64 | Tue Jan 03, 2006 04:05am |
hitting on arms during rebound | ysong | Basketball | 70 | Fri Jun 25, 2004 10:19am |
Waving the arms, "T" or not? | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 20 | Thu Feb 26, 2004 01:45am |
Both arms dangling | Porch Dog | Baseball | 13 | Sat May 18, 2002 02:15am |