![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Jump stop definition.
What part of jump off one foot and land on 2 is unclear? Do see the NCAA rule below. The "Did you see that jump stop?" article in the current issue of Referee magazine also restates the jump stop definition emphasizing jump off one font and land on two as follows: A player may catch the ball while airborne, land on one foot and then jump to land on both feet simultaneously. or may catch the ball while on one foot and then jump to two simultaneously. The key is from one foot alone to two feet together. Any other variation is traveling. NCAA Rule 4 Section 44. Jump Stop Art. 1. A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving or dribbling with: a. One foot on the playing court, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot). b. Two feet off the playing court, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot). Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot onthe playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).[/QUOTE]
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In case anybody's wondering, that's NCAA rule 4-70--3(a)2. It's exactly the same as NFHS rule 4-43-2(a). The traveling rules haven't changed in the last 50 years. Again, all this nonsense is doing is just confusing the hell outa everybody imho. Forget about the terminology of stoopid jump stops and just learn the traveling rules. It's that freaking simple. And if any coach ever questions a traveling call, your reply is just as simple...."Coach, your player established their pivot foot after landing. Then your player lifted that pivot foot and brought it back down again while still holding the ball. That's traveling." And that's also it! End of conversation, turn back to coach, put ball back into play, Adios, amigos! Lah me....paralysis through analysis again.
Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Apr 21, 2010 at 01:48pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The point is that a jump stop involves jumping off of one foot and landing on two. Starting with you Jurassic, does anyone disagree with this and if so how do you reconcile it with the NCAA rule definition? A secondary question is does anyone, starting with you Jurassic, disagree that after a jump stop, no pivot foot is available? Please answer the questions.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information |
|
|||
|
Whose definition of jump stop are we using to answer these questions? hehehehehe
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2) Disagree. The NCAA rule says "either foot can be established as the pivot foot" under one type of jump stop. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The shooter may legally perform a jump stop prior to releasing the try if she is moving or dribbling, and with one foot on the court, she jumps off that foot and simultaneously lands on both feet. From that position she may jump and release a try, but may not pivot on either foot.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The quote says nothing about the "type 2" (from 4-44.2) jump stop. It deals exclusively with the "type 1" (4-44.1) jump stop. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And that's exactly why this discussion is causing so damn much confusion. You've got two completely different and disparate actions rules-wise, with both being classified as "jump stops". |
|
|||
|
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot onthe playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).
I think Bob and I (and you?) are almost in agreement. I missed the allowable NCAA pivot foot movement after a jump stop from one foot to 2 on the dribble. Even in that case the definition of a jump stop requires jumping from one foot to 2. Here's what Bob and I agree upon. By NCAA rules definition 1. a jump stop involves jumping from 1 foot and landing simultaneously on 2 2. in the specific case noted, establishment of a pivot foot is allowed I'm in full agreement with Bob if he can go for: by NCAA rule, a jump stop always involves jumping from 1 foot and landing on 2 feet simultaneously. How about it Bob?
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The key to whether a pivot is allowed after the stop is when the dribble ended, if the dribble ends with both feet off the floor, it doesn't matter whether the dribbler jumped off one foot or both.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove Last edited by just another ref; Wed Apr 21, 2010 at 10:22pm. |
|
|||
|
There is a difference between the NCAA and NFHS rules that I was unaware of. While the NCAA allows a pivot foot in the cited situation, the NFHS does not.
NCAA Rule 4 Section 44. Jump Stop A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot). NFHS Rule 4 Section 44. Traveling Article 2. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands: 3. On one foot, the palyer may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information |
|
|||
|
Actually, I believe the bottom line is the same. The player may pivot only if he ends the dribble with both feet off the floor. Then, if he lands on one foot followed by the other, the first to touch is the pivot. If he lands on both simultaneously, either can be the pivot.
Main difference is NFHS does not muddy up the water by defining jump stop.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Let's label the actions that are occuring as follows: A = Airborne C = Catch the ball O = Landing on and Jumping from one foot T = Land on two feet P = Pivot Quote:
A - O - A - C - A - T - P (pivot is legal here) Quote:
A - C - A - O - A - T - P (pivot is illegal here) Note that the point of the "Catch" is different between these two. One has the ball being caught after the jump from one foot (pivot allowed) where the other has the ball being caught before the jump (no pivot allowed). Both sequences are judged the same in both rule sets...they're just written a bit differently.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Apr 22, 2010 at 12:43am. |
|
|||
|
Sammy, Give Me A Little Traveling Music ...
Many believe that the toughest call for basketball officials is the block/charge call. Yes, it's a tough call, especially when the official is unprepared for the play, and the call.
When I'm asked about my toughest calls, I always answer traveling. We probably see a lot more traveling/no traveling calls in a game than block/charges, and speaking for myself, I'm sure that if I broke down video from all of my games, that I would have made the wrong traveling call/noncall more than any other violation, or foul. Knowing the rule and definition to properly make this call is the beginning. Then the official has to be able to properly recognize these "moves" on the court as being legal, or illegal. Just because it looks "odd" doesn't mean it's a violation, and just because it looks like a "basketball move" doesn't mean it's legal. I think that this thread shows the difficulty of properly calling, or not calling, traveling.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Jump stop | texaspaul | Basketball | 25 | Mon Dec 10, 2007 02:56pm |
| The Jump Stop | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 17 | Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:54pm |
| Jump stop | dsimp8 | Basketball | 5 | Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:03am |
| jump stop | bonehead | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 23, 2004 01:01pm |
| jump stop ? | scat03 | Basketball | 12 | Fri Nov 05, 2004 02:38pm |