The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 02, 2010, 06:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Thumbs up throw in rules questions (FIBA)

The other night I was reffing a championship game and met with a somewhat controversial situation. Team A made a basket and therefore B1 took the ball for the inbounds pass and proceeded to throw a full court pass that went beyond his player and out of bounds without ever being touched. I blew the whistle and brought the ball back to where the pass originated from and gave possession to the other team. Being raised in America, I was convinced I had made the right call according to everything I had ever seen, heard, and read growing up.

However, I'm now living and coaching in Malawi, Africa and of course we go by FIBA rules here. The player who through the errant pass is one of only two certified referees in the entire country. He tried to explain to me that his team should not have lost possession of the ball but that they should be given a "do over". After the game we discussed it further and he was unable to convince me of his "do over" idea. He said he would find the rule online for me, but to date I've received nothing.

Is anyone familiar with the official FIBA ruling on this and if so, could you give me the article numbers so that I can show my "do over" friend exactly what the rule book says on the matter? Any help is appreciated.

Last edited by ABC Coach; Fri Apr 02, 2010 at 06:17am. Reason: typos
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 02, 2010, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 760
Do Over???? What a schmuck!

17.3.1 A player taking a throw-in shall not:
Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball.
Step into the playing court while having the ball in his hand(s).
Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throw-
in.
Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.
Cause the ball to enter the basket directly.

Penalty
The ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the place of the original
throw-in.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 02, 2010, 07:10am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
If you're looking for an online copy of the FIBA books you can find them at:

FIBA.com - Official basketball rules
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 02, 2010, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Do over? FIBA?? What is this 1972???
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 02, 2010, 10:05pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Do over? FIBA?? What is this 1972???
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5sMX6...eature=related
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 02, 2010, 10:21pm
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 895
Who was in charge???

of explaining FIBA rules to the US Basketball contingent prior to this competition?
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 03, 2010, 11:53am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Who was in charge of explaining FIBA rules to the US Basketball contingent prior to this competition?
I think it was this guy.

__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 04, 2010, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
got it

Thanks for the replies. I feel a bit silly because I read and reread Article 17 (which someone posted) but each time I read that part about "not causing the ball to touch out of bounds", I kept thinking of dribbling the ball during a throw in. Now I see how that covers the question that I had. I'll let my "do over" buddy know about this the next time I see him. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 04, 2010, 11:52am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC Coach View Post
Thanks for the replies. I feel a bit silly because I read and reread Article 17 (which someone posted) but each time I read that part about "not causing the ball to touch out of bounds", I kept thinking of dribbling the ball during a throw in. Now I see how that covers the question that I had. I'll let my "do over" buddy know about this the next time I see him. Thanks.
Not sure about FIBA, but here in the states dribbling during a throw-in is perfectly legal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 04, 2010, 12:11pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not sure about FIBA, but here in the states dribbling during a throw-in is perfectly legal.
I had a third grader dribble during a throw-in. He got drool all over the ball. At least he didn't double dribble.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 04, 2010, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC Coach View Post
Thanks for the replies. I feel a bit silly because I read and reread Article 17 (which someone posted) but each time I read that part about "not causing the ball to touch out of bounds", I kept thinking of dribbling the ball during a throw in. Now I see how that covers the question that I had. I'll let my "do over" buddy know about this the next time I see him. Thanks.
Dribbling is not "releasing for the throw-in"; it's perfectly legal under FIBA rules to dribble before releasing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIBA throw in situation jallen Basketball 6 Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:49am
FIBA Rules WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 9 Tue Feb 21, 2006 01:26am
fiba rules need help here anthony Basketball 7 Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46pm
FIBA Rules...Violation on the free throw shooter? AD Basketball 11 Fri Nov 29, 2002 08:36pm
FIBA rules hawkk Basketball 4 Tue Sep 10, 2002 06:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1