The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   throw in rules questions (FIBA) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57779-throw-rules-questions-fiba.html)

ABC Coach Fri Apr 02, 2010 06:04am

throw in rules questions (FIBA)
 
The other night I was reffing a championship game and met with a somewhat controversial situation. Team A made a basket and therefore B1 took the ball for the inbounds pass and proceeded to throw a full court pass that went beyond his player and out of bounds without ever being touched. I blew the whistle and brought the ball back to where the pass originated from and gave possession to the other team. Being raised in America, I was convinced I had made the right call according to everything I had ever seen, heard, and read growing up.

However, I'm now living and coaching in Malawi, Africa and of course we go by FIBA rules here. The player who through the errant pass is one of only two certified referees in the entire country. He tried to explain to me that his team should not have lost possession of the ball but that they should be given a "do over". After the game we discussed it further and he was unable to convince me of his "do over" idea. He said he would find the rule online for me, but to date I've received nothing.

Is anyone familiar with the official FIBA ruling on this and if so, could you give me the article numbers so that I can show my "do over" friend exactly what the rule book says on the matter? Any help is appreciated.

Pantherdreams Fri Apr 02, 2010 06:44am

Do Over???? What a schmuck!

17.3.1 A player taking a throw-in shall not:
Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball.
Step into the playing court while having the ball in his hand(s).
Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throw-
in.
Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.
Cause the ball to enter the basket directly.

Penalty
The ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the place of the original
throw-in.

APG Fri Apr 02, 2010 07:10am

If you're looking for an online copy of the FIBA books you can find them at:

FIBA.com - Official basketball rules

eyezen Fri Apr 02, 2010 06:45pm

Do over? FIBA?? What is this 1972???

Mark Padgett Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 672341)
Do over? FIBA?? What is this 1972???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5sMX6...eature=related

justacoach Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:21pm

Who was in charge???
 
of explaining FIBA rules to the US Basketball contingent prior to this competition?

Mark Padgett Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 672357)
Who was in charge of explaining FIBA rules to the US Basketball contingent prior to this competition?

I think it was this guy.

http://store.infinitecoolness.com/co...vposter007.jpg

ABC Coach Sun Apr 04, 2010 09:51am

got it
 
Thanks for the replies. I feel a bit silly because I read and reread Article 17 (which someone posted) but each time I read that part about "not causing the ball to touch out of bounds", I kept thinking of dribbling the ball during a throw in. Now I see how that covers the question that I had. I'll let my "do over" buddy know about this the next time I see him. Thanks.

Adam Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ABC Coach (Post 672471)
Thanks for the replies. I feel a bit silly because I read and reread Article 17 (which someone posted) but each time I read that part about "not causing the ball to touch out of bounds", I kept thinking of dribbling the ball during a throw in. Now I see how that covers the question that I had. I'll let my "do over" buddy know about this the next time I see him. Thanks.

Not sure about FIBA, but here in the states dribbling during a throw-in is perfectly legal.

Mark Padgett Sun Apr 04, 2010 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 672491)
Not sure about FIBA, but here in the states dribbling during a throw-in is perfectly legal.

I had a third grader dribble during a throw-in. He got drool all over the ball. At least he didn't double dribble. http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...ges/drool1.gif

eg-italy Sun Apr 04, 2010 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ABC Coach (Post 672471)
Thanks for the replies. I feel a bit silly because I read and reread Article 17 (which someone posted) but each time I read that part about "not causing the ball to touch out of bounds", I kept thinking of dribbling the ball during a throw in. Now I see how that covers the question that I had. I'll let my "do over" buddy know about this the next time I see him. Thanks.

Dribbling is not "releasing for the throw-in"; it's perfectly legal under FIBA rules to dribble before releasing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1